Library & Learning Commons: Community Services: Find articles

How to search articles in the library databases

These orientation videos on our Library YouTube channel will walk you through the steps of using the Start your research box. These may also be helpful Library Quick Facts Orientation 2022 and Learning Centre - Tutoring

The following list of databases are specific to your field of study.

While you’re familiarizing yourself with the databases, it’s best to begin your research broadly by using the “Start your research” link that includes all these databases as well as many, many more.

Career Cruising This link opens in a new window
A guide to careers for Canadian students, this database includes career assessment tools, detailed occupational profiles, and information on postsecondary programs at colleges and universities in Canada. The guide includes tools for organizing career information and writing resumes

Sudbury Public Library
Access to digital content is a great perk of having a GSPL library card: you can download eBooks, audiobooks, digital magazines, and streaming video anytime, anywhere.

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
With content from nearly 400 periodicals, this resource provides access to general career guides and specialized industry journals

CRAAP Test - Information Evaluation
CRAAP is an acronym to help evaluate information: currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose. California State University, Chico.
How to Spot Fake News
Lies told, with or without some truth but inaccurate by design or accident. International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
Both kinds of articles are important to use. Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field whereas popular articles are generally written by journalists.
University of California, Berekley.

Recommended databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index of scholarly and academic journals with full-text articles from the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, arts, and health sciences.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
The premier database from the American Psychological Association. Contains full text articles from nearly 50 top psychology publications covering the disciplines of human physiology, personality and social psychology.
Canada (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Search for general information about Canada in reference sources, full text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, audio and video files. Topics include geography, government, sports, literature, history, and social issues.
Canadian Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Includes the Canadian Health Research Collection, Canadian Public Policy Collection, Canadian Publishers Collection, and Irwin Law.
CanLII - Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
A virtual library of Canadian legal information providing access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
For social science and liberal arts coursework, this collection provides access to 150 journals on cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community
e-Laws Ontario This link opens in a new window
e-Laws provides access to official copies of Ontario’s statutes and regulations.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This database includes a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources providing information on educational principles, child development and psychology, as well as best practices in education. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center contains over 2,000 digests along with bibliographical references and abstracts for additional ERIC documents and articles from educational journals.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society, including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full text information and journal articles on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
With instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals, this database looks at psychological issues throughout the lifespan from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time
SD College Edition Journals Collection - Health and Life Sciences [SCHLS] This link opens in a new window
Search for full-text articles from academic journals in the physical sciences, life sciences, health and social sciences. Includes articles from the fields of engineering, medicine, dentistry, nursing, psychology, and environmental science
SD College Edition Journals Collection - Social and Behavioural Sciences [SCSBS] This link opens in a new window
War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.

Law & Legislation Web Sites

Statutes and Regulations

Justice Laws Web Site (Justice Canada)
This web site is an online source for the consolidated acts and regulations of Canada. Updated on a weekly basis, the site links to full-text statutes and regulations by title as well as a search engine.
e-Laws (Government of Ontario)
Provides access to official versions of the statutes and regulations of Ontario. All legislation is updated on a regular basis.
Canada Gazette, Parts I, II, and III
This web site includes links to all three parts of the Canada Gazette. Part I includes notices and proposed regulations, Part II contains official regulations, and Part III contains Acts of Parliament (statutes) of Canada.
Ontario Gazette Online
Includes links to all issues back to the year 2000 of the Ontario Gazette, containing the notices and regulations of the Ontario government.

Court Reports

Canada Supreme Court Reports
This web site, hosted by Lexum at the University of Montreal, includes full text douments for all decisions rendered by the Supreme Court of Canada since 1948.

Federal Courts Reports
From the Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs, this web site includes full text documents from the reports of the Federal Court of Canada and the Federal Court of Appeal.

CanLII - Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
A virtual library of Canadian legal information providing access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.