School of Community Services

More and more people receive psychiatric diagnoses, and the use of psychopharmacological drugs keeps increasing. Concurrently, media report the popularity of "brain doping" or "study drugs" on campuses as well as at the workplace. Are the demands on cognitive and emotional functioning increasing and are psychoactive substances are used to meet these demands. Whether the increasing number of diagnoses means that really more people are suffering from psychological problems will be discussed just as whether the media accurately describe "brain doping" as a new and rising trend. An individual section describes non-pharmacological alternatives to maintain and increase one's mental well-being. The book's focus on addiction/substance use disorders makes it also relevant to the ongoing discussion of drug policy.

The focus of this text is on addiction neuroscience from a neural circuit perspective. It begins with a primer on circuit-based neuroscience, brain regions at the "center" of addiction neurocircuitry and goes on to describe the anatomical connectivity of that brain region, how those circuits are affected by drug exposure, and the role of those circuits in controlling addiction-related behaviors. Prior in-depth knowledge regarding the neurocircuitry of addiction is needed.

Topics include: Why use drugs? (altered consciousness, biological, psychological and family and cultural explanations), consequences, visible' and 'invisible' drug users, tobacco, cannabis, medical uses, cocaine, amphetamines, and other stimulants, (Khat or Qat, benzylpiperazine, pemoline, appetite suppressants, psychedelics and hallucinogens), inhalants, ecstasy and other 'party drugs', Gammahydroxybutyrate (GHB), Gamma-butyrolactone (GBL) and 1, 4- butanediol (1,4-BD); Ketamine; mCPP, anabolic steroids, tranquillizers and sleeping pills, barbiturates, benzodiazepines, heroin and the opioids, the nature of addiction such as neurobiology psychological processes, socio-cultural influences, issues of personal morality, helping problem drug users, drugs and young people, psychological treatments-general principles, relapse prevention and rehabilitation, self-help groups, specific strategies for smokers and drinkers

This is one woman's story of how she overcame mental illness and addiction, and includes helpful tips, spiritual tools, and personal and professional insights designed to make the path to recovery easier for those seeking freedom. Combining insights on Buddhism, Islam, Christianity, and other world religions with the practical spirituality of the Twelve Steps, she describes how to navigate the dual disorders of mental illness and addiction and focuses on mindfulness as a primary tool in the journey of recovery.

Mental illness is nothing like what it was even twenty years ago. Roughly half of all adults in Western countries struggle with at least one addiction. We now live in a 24/7 miasma of media bombardment, of neuro-saturation, and of mental exhaustion. Technology has obliterated the human mind's ability to keep up, and a reassessment of both mental illness and mental wellness is needed. This book elegantly describes how we got to this point, the culmination of different historical perspectives on mental illness, and the evolution of the digital disorders of our time. It offers a reconsideration of normal versus pathological, and the possibility and desirability of achieving mental wellness in a digital environment.

This text is a comprehensive, yet easy-to-read overview of the neurodevelopmental basis of multiple mental disorders and their accompanying consequences, including addiction, suicide and homelessness. With chapters on anxiety, depression, schizophrenia and others

Psychiatric patients endured abuse and could lead monotonous lives inside the asylum's walls, yet these same women and men worked hard at unpaid institutional jobs for years and decades on end, created their own entertainment, even in some cases made their own clothes, while forming meaningful relationships with other patients and some staff. Using first person accounts by and about patients, including letters written by inmates which were confiscated by hospital staff

Consider how inclusive learning, wellbeing and active citizenship can be encouraged, taught, learnt, and supported in a digital world. The examples discussed in the book draw on the experiences of adult refugees and migrants, as well as people who may experience disadvantage and/or discrimination as a result of their social, economic, political, cultural, religious, physical, mental, age or gender-related status. One methodological pillar in this work is the development of skills in digital storytelling and digital stories creation for personal, community and professional purposes.

More than 200 years of research in the field of learning disabilities have provided us with a vast body of knowledge, albeit without answering the fundamental questions: what and why. Today, it is widely accepted that learning disabilities or specific learning disabilities represent a real situation, which is mainly related to education, but also has long-term consequences in the social and professional life of individuals, who may be "smart", but not know how to learn.

Richard Keegan-Bull, through his own words, provides a unique opportunity for us to understand better what it is like to live as a man with a learning disability.

The reader will get a review of most aspects of SLD, including the different clinical syndromes (mostly dyslexia and dyscalculia), the clinical manifestations and the therapeutic approaches. It is unique in the proportion of its content dedicated to the biological aspects of SLD. It attempts to assemble and present the biological knowledge which has been accumulated on these conditions. This knowledge includes the neurological anatomy of dyslex

The book covers a wide variety of mind-body interventions and manipulative techniques, as well as energy therapies, biologically based methods, and alternative medical systems. For each approach, the author provides a detailed description of what the treatment involves, which professionals will be working with the child, and an explanation of the rationale behind the therapy.

In dealing with individual problems and difficulties, critical social work (CSW) is an emancipatory practice which seeks to address social injustice. Fully updated to cover the impact of austerity, the COVID-19 pandemic and cost of living crisis, coverage of race and intersectionality, contextual safeguarding and critical child protection; case studies including those drawn from the author's experience

Provides 12 narratives of the direct and indirect experiences of family violence, its impacts and survival by racialized immigrant youth in their childhood. Guided by theoretical frameworks such as Anti-Colonialism, Critical Race Theory, a rights-based approach to children and Anti-Oppressive practice, with concepts of the Best Interest of the Child and Coercive Control, the narratives shed light on how, in the case of racialized immigrant children, their experiences of family violence are complicated by systemic violence.

Provides an overview of the different types of abuse, including signs to look for when a child is being abused or neglected as well as legal responsibilities to identify and report; interactive questions that allow for theory to be applied to practice. Also includes cultural competency, defining abuse, causes of child abuse. Case studies include: Wilson, Medina, McDonald, Tan, Maria and Bao, Star and Diamond

The concept of time in childhood and youth is discussed in two contradictory ways; first romanticized, as a time of play, innocence, and exploration - of learning through trial and error, and second, as a time restricted by tight societal and generational structures, such as chains of care, institutional and family timetables. Includes global concerns such as climate change or the COVID-19 pandemic, screen time, family mental health, social intelligence development

Although foster youth have college aspirations similar to their peers, fewer than one in ten ultimately complete a two-year or four-year college degree. Okpych examines a wide range of factors that contribute to the chances that foster youth enroll in college, persist in college, and ultimately complete a degree; also investigates how early trauma affects later college outcomes, as well as the impact of a significant child welfare policy that extends the age limit of foster care. The book concludes with data-driven and concrete recommendations for policy and practice to get more foster youth into and through college.

Most maltreated children have long-lasting harm that reveals itself through behavioural and emotional maladjustment, developmental delay, sadness, and other destructive behaviours later in childhood, adolescence and into adulthood. These injuries to their personality, sense of self, relationship to society and mental health change the trajectory of their lives and dim their potential, with social and financial costs for safety, treatment and their lost personal growth. Includes discussion of: corporal punishment, sexual abuse, sex trafficking & tourism, UN Convention on the Rights of the child and the prevention of child maltreatment in the US, child pornography, food insecurity, housing, substance abuse, home visiting, technology, big data, artificial intelligence, mobile technologies and applications, Period of PURPLE Crying, disability and abuse around the world, child abuse prevention in the faith-based (Catholic, Christian, Jewish) environments, incest, sibling abuse.

This text exposes the medical establishment's role in the displacement, colonization, and genocide of Indigenous peoples in Canada. Includes government documentation, historical scholarship, media reports, public inquiries, and personal testimonies, to connect the draconian medevac practice with often-disregarded crimes and medical violence inflicted specifically on Indigenous children.

As COVID lays bare social inequities and the inadequacies of health care delivery and public health, Medicare's Histories shows what was excluded and what was - and is - possible in health care. Includes mental health, disability rights, assistive devices, home care for rural elders, pharmacare and denticare, physician discontent.

Canadians are deeply worried about wait times for health care. Entrepreneurial doctors and private clinics are bringing Charter challenges to existing laws restrictive of a two-tier system. They argue that Canada is an outlier among developed countries in limiting options to jump the queue. This book explores whether a two-tier model is a solution exploring the public and private mix in Canada, Australia, Germany, France, and Ireland. They explain the history and complexity of interactions between public and private funding of health care and the many regulations and policies found in different countries used to both inhibit and sometimes to encourage two-tier care, such as tax breaks

Helping to promote healing in Aboriginal people with addiction and mental health issues requires specialized knowledge and unique skills. Health, social service and justice workers must first have a grasp of history and the emotional legacy that today's generation of Aboriginal people carry. They must also be prepared to blend Aboriginal and Western approaches to match their clients' unique world views. It will be of interest to social workers, addiction and mental health service providers, and prison, probation, parole and police officers working with Aboriginal communities.

Mental health practices and programs around the world face growing criticism from policymakers, consumers, and service providers for being ineffective, overly reliant on treatment by professionals, and overly focused on symptoms. Many have called for new paradigms of mental health and new practices that can better support recovery, community integration, and adaptive functioning for persons diagnosed with psychiatric disabilities. This presents a conceptual foundation for transformative change in mental health, based on community psychology values and principles of ecology, collaboration, empowerment, and social justice. Includes strategies for making changes at the level of society, policy, organizations, community settings, and mental health practices.

Provides a set of procedures that meet international best practices and standards for handling digital evidence during its complete lifecycle. The book includes procedures, forms and software, providing anyone who handles digital evidence with a guide to proper procedures throughout chain of custody--from incident response straight through to analysis in the lab. This book addresses the whole lifecycle of digital evidence.

The most prestigious, globally-recognized, vendor neutral exam for information security professionals. In this new edition, readers will learn about what's included in the newest version of the exam's Common Body of Knowledge.

The invention of kleptomania by psychiatrists and the adoption of this ideology of feminine weakness by retailers, newspapers, the general public, the accused women themselves, and even the courts reveals the way in which a gender analysis allowed proponents of consumer capitalism to mask its contradictions.

For a number of topics, it offers an analysis of issues in epidemiology, causal and risk factors, outcomes and interventions.

With the growing maturity and stability of digitization and edge technologies, vast numbers of digital entities, connected devices, and microservices interact purposefully to create huge sets of poly-structured digital data. Corporations are continuously seeking fresh ways to use their data to drive business innovations and disruptions to bring in real digital transformation. Data science (DS) is proving to be the one-stop solution for simplifying the process of knowledge discovery and dissemination out of massive amounts of multi-structured data.

Case studies are analysed from a variety of American city agencies. They demonstrate how focusing police resources on risky places and basing police work on smart uses of data can address the worst effects of disorder and crime while improving community relations and public safety. Topics include the role of big data; the evolution of modern policing; dealing with high-risk targets; designing, implementing, and evaluating risk-based policing strategies; and the role of multiple stakeholders in risk-based policing. The book also demonstrates how risk terrain modeling can be extended to provide a comprehensive view of prevention and deterrence.

Illustrates the current scope of the practice of genetics for healthcare professionals, so they can understand principles applicable to genetic testing and consultation. Sections are dedicated to basic genetic principles; clinical genetic and genomic testing; prenatal, clinical and cancer genetic diagnosis and counseling; and ethical and social implications in genomic medicine. Over 100 illustrative cases examine a range of prenatal, pediatric and adult genetic conditions and testing. Includes chromosome structure and function, sex-linked inheritance, genetic counseling,
developmental disabilities and behavioral abnormalities, neurobehavioral concerns, genetics of mental illness, psychiatric disorders and heritability, support groups and patient advocacy groups

This guide provides critical information in short form for easy access to research and best practice in special and inclusive education for students with autism and other developmental disabilities. Here you will find links to downloadable fact sheets ideal for informing practice and sharing with colleagues. You will find over 60 accommodation guides including definitions, descriptions, strategies, examples, for each Instructional, Assessment and Environmental Accommodation. Useful for: understanding accommodations, planning inclusive instruction, sharing with colleagues, parents, and students, helping students understand and engage in their own learning supports.

With easy-to-follow instructions for group activities and rhythms for people facing a wide variety of life challenges. Sections on outcomes, setting up for success, common challenges and practical adaptations of the drum circle guide you in leading sessions with your own groups. The compendium also offers guidance on pricing, evaluating your sessions, managing challenging behaviours and duty of care. Also includes working with various communities: early childhood, youth, autism, trauma, mental health, drugs and alcohol, refugees, neurodiverse communities, physical and intellectual disabilities, seniors, dementia and Alzheimer’s, grief and loss, cancer, prisoners, veterans, survivors of natural disasters, Aboriginal or First Nations, wellness and personal growth, corporate

The author writes openly about her experience--the positive and the negative--as a mother of a now 21-year-old son with severe autism. Challenges commonly held ideas that define autism either as a disease or as neurodiversity. Examines social issues such as inclusion, religion, therapeutics, and friendship through the lens of severe autism.

Puberty, personal hygiene and sex can be difficult topics to broach with your child, especially when they have an intellectual disability or autism. Discusses physical changes, mood swings and sexual behaviour; case studies alongside, practical guidance on appropriate sex education programmes to meet the needs of differing degrees of disability.

Holistic Care and Wellness in Early Years Settings provides emerging early years educators with an opportunity to examine local legislation and recommendations regarding health, nutrition, and safety for early years settings while considering ways to promote wellness and reduce barriers for children, families, colleagues, and communities. Emerging educators are introduced to resources to support holistic wellness and care for self and others.

Selecting the right play materials to include in your program matters; there are so many options, and often the budget does not stretch to cover everything. Discover ideas for both familiar and new play materials and how those materials support the cognitive, social and emotional, and physical learning and development of children. Includes play materials to construct knowledge and understanding, facilitate thinking and problem-solving skills, personal understanding, creative expression, nature and science, develop gross motor skills

Most maltreated children have long-lasting harm that reveals itself through behavioural and emotional maladjustment, developmental delay, sadness, and other destructive behaviours later in childhood, adolescence and into adulthood. These injuries to their personality, sense of self, relationship to society and mental health change the trajectory of their lives and dim their potential, with social and financial costs for safety, treatment and their lost personal growth. Includes discussion of: corporal punishment, sexual abuse, sex trafficking & tourism, UN Convention on the Rights of the child and the prevention of child maltreatment in the US, child pornography, food insecurity, housing, substance abuse, home visiting, technology, big data, artificial intelligence, mobile technologies and applications, Period of PURPLE Crying, disability and abuse around the world, child abuse prevention in the faith-based (Catholic, Christian, Jewish) environments, incest, sibling abuse.

When young children are showing signs of difficulty, parents, childcare providers, and teachers often approach practitioners for guidance on how to best support healthy development. This guide helps understand children's social, emotional, and behavioral difficulties with step-by-step intervention for a wide range of issues in establishing relationships, communicating effectively, sustaining attention, and handling frustration and anxiety. Includes helping the shy, cautious, or withdrawn child, language and information processing issues, high energy and/or inattentive child, easily frustrated, impulsive child, the disengaged, offbeat, or gifted but rigid child; trauma and loss, monitoring media choices, providing guidance during crises

This is an interactive textbook that will help students preparing for careers in law enforcement to develop stronger communication habits in Police Foundations; Protection, Security, Investigations; and Justice Services program. Includes coded communication, notebooks / memo books, interviewing skills, witness statements

Examines the critical intersection between emergency management and public health. It provides a succinct overview of the actions that may be taken before, during, and after a major public health emergency or disaster to reduce morbidity and mortality. Topics covered include disaster behavioral health, which is often the most expensive and longest-term recovery challenge in a public health emergency, and community resilience, in-depth review of preparedness, response, and recovery challenges for 15 public health threats.

“The purpose of this review was to focus on three broad areas: a. The performance and adequacy of the technology currently employed by 9-1-1 services, such as that used to locate a caller using a cellphone; b. The issues related to the provision of 9-1-1 services on next-generation networks, including how systems should be designed and the appropriate institutional arrangements; and c. Policy considerations on 9-1-1 matters" -- Introduction.

Discusses processes relating to routing and handling of IP-based emergency calls. Readers will learn how these standards work, how various standardization organizations contributed to them and about pilot projects, early deployment and current regulatory situation. This book is a resource for emergency services providers, among others.

Emphasizes the need for law enforcement and emergency service workers to handle critical incidents in a positive manner when encountering people in public crises. The book's focus is on the approaches, stratagems, difficult circumstances, and the ability to effectively advance the course of the negotiations in the best interests of all concerned. Active listening is presented in an enhanced form with several important objectives and innovations

Since 9/11, several bills introduced in the U.S. Congress have included provisions to assist emergency communications focusing on interoperability - the capacity of different systems to connect. Future 911 systems will use Internet protocols (IP) to facilitate interoperability and system resilience, and to provide better connections between 911 call centers, emergency responders, and alert and warning systems, more robust capacity, and the flexibility to receive calls for help in any format.

Cognitive radio technology is a smarter, faster, and more efficient way to transmit information to and from fixed, mobile, other wireless communication devices. Cognitive radio builds upon software-defined radio technology. A cognitive radio system is 'aware' of its operating environment and automatically adjusts itself to maintain desired communications--it's like having a trained operator 'inside' the radio making constant adjustments for maximum performance. Operating frequency, power output, antenna orientation/beamwidth, modulation, and transmitter bandwidth are just a few of the operating parameters that can automatically be adjusted "on the fly" in a cognitive radio system.

Effective communication through the media is an essential responsibility of public health officials, particularly during emergencies. Urgent, high-concern situations present a unique communication challenge. Poor communication can erode public support, fan emotions, undermine confidence, and amplify social and economic costs. Effective communication can rally support, calm a nervous public, provide much-needed information, encourage cooperative behaviours, and help save lives. This handbook presents an integrated, principle-based approach to media communication for those dealing with public health emergencies. Topics covered include how journalists gather and process information about public health emergencies, steps for planning and implementing an effective media communication programme, identifying and reaching target audiences, media interviews, avoiding traps and pitfalls, and preparing key messages.

Help service providers work successfully with children who exhibit emotional and behavioral disorders with evidence-based treatment strategies. These high-incidence behavioral disorders are addressed by type, and each includes a discussion of the relevant characteristics, causes, prevalence, and treatment strategies. Discussion includes holistic collaboration and coordination of services from school psychologists, school social workers, speech-language pathologists, guidance counselors, and occupational therapists

Most maltreated children have long-lasting harm that reveals itself through behavioural and emotional maladjustment, developmental delay, sadness, and other destructive behaviours later in childhood, adolescence and into adulthood. These injuries to their personality, sense of self, relationship to society and mental health change the trajectory of their lives and dim their potential, with social and financial costs for safety, treatment and their lost personal growth. Includes discussion of: corporal punishment, sexual abuse, sex trafficking & tourism, UN Convention on the Rights of the child and the prevention of child maltreatment in the US, child pornography, food insecurity, housing, substance abuse, home visiting, technology, big data, artificial intelligence, mobile technologies and applications, Period of PURPLE Crying, disability and abuse around the world, child abuse prevention in the faith-based (Catholic, Christian, Jewish) environments, incest, sibling abuse.

Enhance the safety of health service organizations through the adoption of evidence-based practices. The guideline will address how to recognize, prevent, and manage violence, harassment and bullying in the workplace.

The idea behind the creation of this open textbook is twofold. First, it is written as a resource for educators to teach students about the Indigenous historical significance of the lands encompassing the Robinson-Huron Treaty area and more specifically the Greater Sudbury and Manitoulin area. Secondly, through the use of interactive mapping strategies, the textbook will serve as a guide for educators to develop a similar resource to document Indigenous stories from their own areas. Discusses how social institutions and social relationships have changed in response to colonization and how these social institutions and relationships have evolved or remained intact with the changes within the social environment.