Community Services

This is an integrative approach for educators at the high school and college level to survive, thrive, and sustain in the profession. Blending theory, research, and practice for a comprehensive program for teachers to incorporate well-being tools into the classroom, each of the book's five foundations includes engaging information, strategies, real-world examples, interactive reflection questions, and activities that can be directly applied to teaching and life.

Aimed at parents, teachers, and caretakers, to explore why children draw and the meaning and value of drawing for youngsters--from toddlers aged two to pre-adolescents aged twelve. Informed by psychology and practical teaching with children, it guides readers through the progressive stages and characteristics of drawing development as children grow and change mentally, physically, socially, emotionally, and creatively.

Reviews the breadth of current knowledge on aggression from infancy through adolescence; explores the forms and functions of aggression and the multiple factors that contribute to its emergence, development, and consequences, including genetic and biological influences, temperament, family dynamics, peer relations, and social inequality.

This book encourages students and those new to the field to feel more confident and prepared when entering the field of practice. The stories of lived experience and advice from agency supervisors, former students and instructors highlights practice settings. Each chapter ends with discussion questions for use in class or in supervision, allowing for dialogue about thoughts and feelings while getting acquainted with the profession.

Presents the theory and practice of therapeutic activity programming and facilitation consisting of the importance of play, through to becoming a programmer and facilitator of therapeutic play experiences and actionable activities, 40 reflective exercises for educators and readers to use in classroom discussions or as self-instructional activities.

.A smart, funny, and essential survival guide that you didn't know you needed. But you do. As any current or former 20-something knows, adult life can get a bit weird because no one tells you what to expect. Many of us spend a decade or more figuring out how the world works, hoping that by age 30 our friends are too old to remember what happened.

Includes redefining health and well-being, constraints on health spending and the economics of health spending, health priorities and risk factors for specific diseases and features a special focuses on Indigenous health; health promotion settings including individual and population-based approaches, the role of governments and communities, influencing behavior change and the role of policy, legislation and environmental change; planning and evaluation including developing sustainable health programs and how they can be measured

Analysis of modern Western medical practices using evidence-informed Indigenous healing practices and traditions from around the world--from sweat lodges and fermented foods to Ayurvedic doshas and meditation. Organized around various sciences, such as physics, genetics, and microbiology, the book explains the connection between traditional medicine and current research

Discusses the profound impacts of social injustice on public health. Includes photographs and case examples

This research seeks to better understand and support Aboriginal economic success and the development of a community network of Aboriginal professionals and community leaders in Sudbury.

With the right information, resources and tips on caregiving and working with professionals, caregivers can become your own expert at both caring for your charge and taking care of yourself.

a concise and practical guide to caring for someone who has depression or bipolar disorder. This compassionate book offers specific suggestions for what to say, how to encourage, and how to act around a loved one--as well as when to back off. Describes effective communication strategies to use during episodes of depression and offers essential advice for finding appropriate professional help. Includes how to reinforce progress made in therapy, model resilience skills, and how caregivers can and must care for themselves; tables and worksheets.

To build a foundation for health information management success, this work-text demystifies stats by first demonstrating how to use calculations and then practice in clinical case studies and practice problems. Think through the big issues in health care today, consider available data, choose the best statistical analysis, and make recommendations. Applications include vital statistics and mortality rates, census and occupancy rates

Comprising dozens of examples that address different industries and departments (healthcare, transportation, finance, human resources, marketing, customer service, sports, etc.) and different platforms (print, desktop, tablet, smartphone, and conference room display) The Big Book of Dashboards is the only book that matches great dashboards with real-world business scenarios.

Public discourse, from pop culture to political rhetoric, portrays hackers as deceptive, digital villains. Through extensive interviews with hackers, observations of hacker communities, and analyses of hacker cultural products, Steinmetz demystifies the figure of the hacker and situates the practice of hacking within the larger political and economic structures of capitalism, crime, and control. Hacked explores how governments, corporations, and other institutions attempt to manage hacker culture through the creation of ideologies and laws that protect powerful economic interests. Provides actionable policy recommendations that aim to redirect the focus from the individual to corporations, governments, and broader social issues

The author examines the victims' plight, and is careful to place statistics from the FBI's Uniform Crime Report and Bureau of Justice Statistics National Crime Victimization Survey in context. The text systematically investigates how victims' currently are handled by the criminal justice system, analyzes the goals of the victims' rights movement, and discusses what the future is likely to hold. This seventh edition expands coverage of human trafficking, crimes on campus, identity theft, stalking, motor vehicle theft, and prisoners attacked behind bars.

Written by autistic trans people from around the world, this vital and intimate collection of personal essays reveals the struggles and joys of living at the intersection of neurodivergence and gender diversity. Includes coming out, college and university life, accessing healthcare, physical transition, friendships and relationships, sexuality, pregnancy, parenting, and late life self-discovery

The dangerous decline in vaccinations in many developed countries is at the heart of a lively debate that confirms how important the subject is today. Vaccinations are among mankind's most important scientific discoveries, yet they continue to be viewed with suspicion by part of the public - the victims of disinformation campaigns, instrumentalization and unfounded fears. There is, however, also an evolutionary explanation for these irrational beliefs, and countering the growing social opposition will be extremely difficult without grasping it.

Discusses "higher-level" topics such as gender, race, ethnicity, language, socioeconomics, and family structures. The author advocates a framework of four basic tenets—equal access for all learners, individual strengths and needs, reflective practice and differentiated instruction, and, community and collaboration—which are integrated into every chapter.

Discusses fine motor skills and computer and personal electronic device use, keyboarding skills, postural support, sensory processing, and the adult years,

This is an introduction to dual diagnosis / concurrent disorder (a situation where a person has concurrent disorders of developmental disability and mental health illness) for staff and families who directly support those individuals. Includes information from the DSM-5 with an emphasis on practical strategies and adaptation of existing approaches that can be used on a day-to-day basis; depressive disorders; bipolar and related disorders; schizophrenia spectrum & other psychotic disorders; anxiety disorders; obsessive-compulsive & related disorders; trauma and stress related disorders; personality disorders; pharmacology; therapy

Explores the key theorists and theories that form the foundation of learning and development in early childhood. Includes reflective and analytical skills through critical questions, photographs and discussion points

Understand, access, and use information in meaningful ways to support the healthy development of all children to ensure health and well-being in modern learning environments.

Discusses the theoretical framework of play, characteristics of play, the environmental and cultural factors that influence play, and the application of developmentally appropriate play practices. It is grounded in sharing new research, practices, and ways of knowing about play and its contributions it makes to the lives of children and how play sets the foundation for later academic and life dispositions; reinforces how play prepares children to develop the critical thinking, problem solving, their desire to be curious, and creative expression that facilitates their communication skills, ability to embrace place, community, their culture, and diversity amongst peers.

Age-inappropriate screen tech has profoundly affected the brains of an entire generation. Brain imaging research is showing that stimulating glowing screens are as dopaminergic (dopamine activating) to the brain’s pleasure center as sex. And a growing mountain of clinical research correlates screen tech with disorders like ADHD, addiction, anxiety, depression, increased aggression, and even psychosis. Most shocking of all, recent brain imaging studies conclusively show that excessive screen exposure can neurologically damage a young person’s developing brain in the same way that cocaine addiction can.

Concrete tools and tips to transform your relationship with the young kids in your life. What do you do with a little kid who ... won't brush her teeth ... screams in his car seat ... pinches the baby ... refuses to eat vegetables ... throws books in the library ... runs rampant in the supermarket? Organized according to common challenges and conflicts, this book is an emergency first-aid manual of communication strategies, including a chapter that addresses the special needs of children with sensory processing and autism spectrum disorders.

Connect nature play, outdoor experiences, and STEM learning for young children with activities, real-life examples, and educator resources. Full of activities, examples, and resources to take the fun of STEM outside, this book will help teachers articulate connections between nature play, outdoor experiences, and STEM learning in young children.

Advocates for the rights of people with disabilities have worked hard to make universal design in the built environment "just part of what we do." This is also a perfect model for Universal Design for Learning (UDL), a framework grounded in the neuroscience of why, what, and how people learn. UDL can be profitably broadened toward a larger ease-of-use and general diversity framework. Captioned instructional videos, for example, benefit learners with hearing impairments but also the student who worries about waking her young children at night or those studying on a noisy team bus.

The workplace is the arena where adults with ADHD face their greatest challenges. It is possible to cultivate a work environment that enables them to thrive and uses the strengths of this unique condition to their advantage. In a book designed with the ADHD reader in mind, Nadeau offers an easy-to-follow progression of useful information interwoven with practical strategies for career success.

Includes applications for depression, learning disabilities and ADHD

Includes a chapter on literacy Instruction for Students with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

What is counselling and how can it help? Does counselling work? How is counselling different from talking to my family and friends about my problems? This explains the different approaches to therapy and how they are used in practice, giving information on what counselling can help with and what it cannot do, including cognitive and behavioural therapies, psychoanalysis, and humanistic psychology, positive psychotherapy and the move away from a disease-based approach to counselling

Step-by-step process of planning and writing a reflective essay, beginning with crucial guidance on planning and structure; introduces different reflective frameworks and how to structure a piece of writing according to a particular framework.

This text exposes the medical establishment's role in the displacement, colonization, and genocide of Indigenous peoples in Canada. Includes government documentation, historical scholarship, media reports, public inquiries, and personal testimonies, to connect the draconian medevac practice with often-disregarded crimes and medical violence inflicted specifically on Indigenous children.

Includes reflection, group dimensions, group development, leadership and group roles, power in groups, decision making from a shared understanding

Provides an integrated theoretical framework for understanding the complexities of health trajectories and relationship processes. Reviews and synthesizes current empirical evidence and associated theoretical constructs from the literature on health and illness in close relationships across the social and behavioral sciences. Maps out an explanatory framework of how the pathways and processes of close relationships pose considerations for resilience and flourishing or, on the contrary, for relational and health decline

Examination of empathy, illuminating the myths, the science, and the power behind this transformative emotion.