Library & Learning Commons: Health Sciences, Nursing, & Emergency Services: Find videos & DVDs

How to search for streaming videos & DVDs

There are 3 ways to search for streaming videos:

1) Search each collection individually through the Video Streaming tab on the library web site.

2) Search the library catalogue, limiting your search to videos.

3) Use the Search ALL search box on the library web site, then use the limit by source type to select videos. Add the phrase streaming video into your search for the most precise results.

We have a large selection of animated movies, both as streaming content (see Criterion and NFB Campus) and on DVD. DVDs are available to sign out from the library overnight or over the weekend.

Recommended resources

Dental health
Call Number: DVD RK61.D46 2006
This program details the importance of maintaining good dental health, not only for aesthetic reasons, but also to prevent diabetes, cardiovascular inflammation, and other serious health threats.
Emergency medicine in the dental office
Call Number: DVD RC86.7 .E5955 2008
Provides the dental team with skills to recognize the physical and emotional symptoms and treatment for 11 medical emergency scenarios. Dentists who have handled medical emergencies comment on and assess their performance.
If saliva were red: a visual lesson on infection control
Call Number: DVD RK51.5 .I352 2006
Presents appropriate and not-so-appropriate infection control techniques for the clinical dental setting.
Precision in periodontal instrumentation
Call Number: DVD RK681.P74 2006
An introduction to periodontal instrumentation, this DVD covers the use of gloves, positioning, sharpening, and instrument design.

Benefits for humanity: The sound of life
Ultrasound and remote medicine methods that are in use aboard the International Space Station have been adapted for use on Earth to save lives around the world. This example, along with a few of the many benefits provided by research performed on the space station, is highlighted in NASA’s new feature “Benefits for Humanity.”
The physics of medical imaging.
Call Number: DVD R895.P59 2009
Explains the physics of diagnostic imaging and how it expands the knowledge of practitioners of medicine.
Understanding the human body: An introduction to anatomy
Call Number: DVD QP38.G66 2004
A solid introduction to human anatomy and physiology, this DVD presents the structure and functioning of our bodies as an integrated unity, a perspective that reveals the logic and symmetry of the human organism with compelling clarity. Covers the cardiovascular system; respiratory system; nervous system; digestive system; endocrine system; urinary system; reproductive system; musculoskeletal system; immune system; and the biology of human cancer.

Firefighting strategies
The three essential ingredients for fire are heat, fuel, and oxygen. The type of fire being fought dictates which techniques firefighters use and which of the three ingredients they try to remove from the fire.
Firefighting technology
Thermal image cameras enable firefighters to see through smoke and locate heat sources in a fire. To prevent fires from spreading firefighters spray combustibles with foam that contains a moisture-absorbing polymer.
Go to blazes
Dangerous practices that can cause tragic and costly fires are a fire inspector's constant concern. In this film we go along with Inspector Joe Fletcher as he investigates fires that have happened, are happening, or could happen.
Modern marvels: Firefighting! Containing the demon
Both a blessing and a curse, fire has long intrigued and confounded mankind. This episode of Modern Marvels: Firefighting! examines historical attempts to control fire, from ancient Rome to today’s high-tech attempts. Profiling major fires in Chicago, San Francisco, and New York, the show discusses efforts of city planning to reduce fire risk. Distributed by A&E Television Networks..

Age Is No Barrier
This short documentary features a group of seniors called the "U of Agers" who meet twice a week at the University of Alberta to do gymnastics. The U of Agers are just "ordinary" people trying to do "extraordinary" things and confirm that if they can do gymnastics, then others in Canada have the potential to excel at whatever inspires them.
Going the Distance
This feature-length Oscar®-nominated documentary chronicles the efforts of 8 athletes, both in their home countries before the August 1978 Commonwealth Games and during competition itself. The film was the official film of the 11th Commonwealth Games, held in Edmonton, Canada.
Nutrition and Weight Management
There’s no end to the number of “miracle” diets advertised on TV. Combat their influence with this video, which illustrates what’s really needed to reach and maintain a healthy weight: commitment, discipline, and attention to dietary details.
Strength, Flexibility, and Endurance (Stories from Our Land, Vol. 2)
This short film explores why Inuit games were more than just fun to pass the time; it required the athletes to be in peak physical condition to perform these ancient feats of strength.

Breaking the wall of data deluge: How efficient data exploration enables new scientific discoveries
Science has entered its fourth paradigm: after being observational, empirical, and theoretical, scientific discovery is now data-intensive. Anastasia Ailamaki, professor of computer sciences at Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, is pushing the limits of the speed of research and our capacity to deal with massive amounts of information.
Data mining: Big data's increasing challenge and payoff
This program explores the methods, processes, and key functions of data analysis. Outlining the applications of data mining in biomedical research, health care, and other scientific arenas, the video also highlights its uses in business, from marketing to risk analysis to retail sales statistics.
Of dice and men
This witty short animation film introduces the theory of probability. We learn of its inception in the 17th century to settle a dispute over a game of dice, its relationship to predictability, and its application to everyday situations--like the chances of being involved in an accident.

The Physical Benefits of Massage Therapy
Massage therapy is more than a spa massage. There are health benefits to massage that help with lower back pain, cramps, muscle pain, blood flow and restore balance.
Massage Therapy: Lower Back Relief
Massage expert Susan G. Salvo demonstrates a brief and effective lower back routine.
Therapeutic Massage vs. Relaxation Massage
Michele Mack, a licensed massage therapist at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, explains the differences between therapeutic massage and full-body relaxation massages.

ABO blood groups
Call Number: DVD QP98 .A25 2005
Discusses the science behind ABO antigens; covers application of molecular biology techniques with regard to genetic analysis and the importance of ABO systems in transfusions.
Blood
Call Number: DVD QP91 .B58215 2005
Describes the components of blood. Describes red and white blood cells, granulocytes and agranulocytes and their morphology.
Your immune system
Call Number: DVD QR181 .Y682 2002
This program clearly and concisely maps out the complicated human immune system, explaining both how it keeps the body healthy and what happens to the body if it malfunctions.
ProQuest Health & Medicine Video Training Programs
Includes online videos on such topics as the blood collection, fluid and electrolyte balance, and the human immune system.

Basic radiographic positioning
Call Number: VIDEO RC78.4.B37
This series demonstrates some of the basic radiographic techniques used when working with patients. Covers the digestive tract, the vertebral column, upper and lower limbs, the skull and facial bones, and the chest, abdomen and thorax.
The physics of medical imaging.
Call Number: DVD R895.P59 2009
Explains the physics of diagnostic imaging and how it expands the knowledge of practitioners of medicine.
Understanding the human body: An introduction to anatomy
Call Number: DVD QP38.G66 2004
A solid introduction to human anatomy and physiology, this DVD presents the structure and functioning of our bodies as an integrated unity, a perspective that reveals the logic and symmetry of the human organism with compelling clarity. Covers the cardiovascular system; respiratory system; nervous system; digestive system; endocrine system; urinary system; reproductive system; musculoskeletal system; immune system; and the biology of human cancer.

Cambrian Library YouTube - Recommended Videos for BSN Program (playlist)
This is a curated list of videos either made by Cambrian Library staff or by other reputable sources to assist with using nursing-specific search tools.

The "how to" family nurisng series
Call Number: DVD RT120.F34
This series looks at interviewing families with specific emphasis on the elderly, chronic illness, and communication skills.
Ethical issues in nursing
Call Number: DVD RT85.E793 2006
This four part series of DVDs addresses ethical and moral issues faced by nurses today, including conflict resolution, cultural sensitivity, confidentiality, respect and commitment to patients.
Jarvis physical examination & health assessment DVD series
Call Number: On Reserve at the Library Help Desk
Designed to accompany the textbook Physical Examination and Health Assessment by Carolyn Jarvis, this series looks at all aspects of physical assessment of the patient.
Mosby's nursing video skills: Basic, intermediate, and advanced skills
Call Number: DVD RT73.5.B375 2009 (On Reserve at the Library Help Desk)
This three-part series presents the practical skills of nursing care and procedures. Nursing practice skills demonstrate how to perform basic nursing procedures. Discusses the purpose of each skill, safety precautions, and demonstrates the equipment used to carry out the skill.
Mosby's physical examination DVD series
Call Number: DVDRC76.M6
This series of 18 DVDs looks at techniques for physical examination of patients as well as effective communication and interview skills.
Nurses: If Florence could see us now
This film offers a unique look into the complex and challenging world of being a nurse, exploring the many different roles that nurses play and their areas of practice, from the bedside to the board room, and the many ways that nurses impact the lives of others.
Nursing assessment of the newborn
Call Number: DVD RJ255.5.N974 2007
This series demonstrates two types of evaluations: one program describes how to perform an examination of the baby to determine if he/she is in stable condition while the second shows how to use an abbreviated Ballard Scale to determine gestational age.
ProQuest Health & Medicine Video Training Programs
Search for training videos on all aspects of nursing skills and competency.

Children’s Occupational Therapy - The OT Practice
This video introduces how ‘The OT Practice kids’ team of pediatric occupational therapists work with children experiencing difficulties in sensory processing, handwriting or developmental milestones.
Covid-19 and Occupational Therapy Webinar (Conversations with the College)
The College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario developed this webinar to answer some frequently asked questions and help OTs navigate challenging situations during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Ontario Society of Occupational Therapists Videos
Find out what occupational therapists in Ontario are doing during and after difficult times.
Physical Therapy Evaluation: Step by Step
This video shows a step by step guide on performing a full physical therapy evaluation.
Trends and Drivers of Change in Physiotherapy in Ontario
The College of Physiotherapists of Ontario presents what they learned from the “This is PT Now” Research Project.

Diabetic emergencies
Call Number: DVD RC660.D48694 2003
Compares and contrasts diabetic coma and insulin shock in terms of symptoms, signs and the emergency care required.
Post-traumatic stress disorder : When the memories won't go away
Call Number: DVD RC552.P67 P6695 2001
Discusses the causes, symptoms and treatment of post-traumatic stress disorder. Includes stories of trauma caused by child abuse, spousal abuse, war atrocities and terminal illness as related by patients recovering from PSTD.
Understanding the human body: An introduction to anatomy
Call Number: DVD QP38.G66 2004
A solid introduction to human anatomy and physiology, this DVD presents the structure and functioning of our bodies as an integrated unity, a perspective that reveals the logic and symmetry of the human organism with compelling clarity. Covers the cardiovascular system; respiratory system; nervous system; digestive system; endocrine system; urinary system; reproductive system; musculoskeletal system; immune system; and the biology of human cancer.

Behaviors associated with dementia: Case presentations
Call Number: DVD RC521.M36
Documents actual patients filmed in long-term care facilities and captures some of the very difficult behaviors associated with dementia. These include: extreme agitation, refusing care, catastrophic reactions, physical and verbal violence.
The Elder Project
The Elder Project follows seven diverse seniors over two years and records their experiences through a series of short and candid episodic stories.
The forgetting: A portrait of Alzheimer's
Call Number: DVD RC523.2.S5354 2004
An exploration of Alzheimer's, taking both a sweeping and intimate look at how this cruel disease affects nearly five million Americans and their loved ones. Looks at this fearsome disease and aims to help understand and cope with its impact. Weaves together the intense real-world experiences of Alzheimer's patients and caregives, the history and biology of Alzheimer's and the ongoing struggle to end the disease.
Living old: The modern realities of aging in America
Call Number: DVD HQ1064.U5 L588 2006
Americans are living longer and healthier lives, thanks to medical advances, but at what cost? For many, this longevity also means physical decline, less available caregivers, and an overburdened healthcare system. Take a look at this newest challenge.
You won't need running shoes, darling
Over a critical two-year period, acclaimed documentarian Dorothy Todd Hénaut, films her parents' life as they encounter health problems as they age. The result is a gritty, sensitive look at the human aging process.