Health Sciences, Nursing, & Emergency Services

Written for beginning sonographers to introduce them to the profession, this book covers the history of diagnostic medical sonography, communication and critical thinking, safet issues, medical techniques and patient care, clianical assessments and sonographic procedures, and legal and ethical aspects of the field.

Ultrasound has revolutionized the ability to make urgent and emergent diagnoses at the bedside, and has changed the management of many acute injuries and conditions. This is a practical, concise introduction to what is rapidly becoming an essential tool for critical care:

Presents ultrasound physics in an easy-to-understand and comprehensive manner for diagnostic medical ultrasonography students by explaining necessary principles, using analogies, and incorporating sample problems throughout the text.

Provides advice on passing Firefighter Candidate exams and answers and explains questions. Includes six practice tests and helpful strategies to enhancing your test-taking skills.

The flagship title from the prestigious American College of Sports Medicine, this critical handbook delivers scientifically based, evidence-informed standards to prepare you for success.

A bold look at how commercial agendas distort the real science behind health and fitness studies and misinform the public about how to live a healthy life

This book looks at food systems globally and historically to explain how food production, diets, and nutrition science have changed across time. and provides an overview of the contemporary relationship between humans, land, and food, exploring the sustainability of consumption patterns on our health.

From Charles Atlas to Jane Fonda, the fitness movement has been a driving force in American culture for more than half a century. In this book on the modern history of exercise in America, Shelly McKenzie chronicles the governmental, scientific, commercial, and cultural forces that united--sometimes unintentionally--to make exercise an all-American habit.

Now in its fifth edition, The Psychology of Exercise: Integrating Theory and Practice is the ideal resource for undergraduate courses devoted to the study of exercise behavior. Following the success of previous editions, this book successfully integrates theoretical principles and the latest research with intervention strategies that students can apply in real-world settings. Students will find multiple forms of presentation throughout including graphics and models, questionnaires and other instruments, focus boxes highlighting research on the impact of physical activity on specific populations, and review questions and activities to enhance learning.

This book is a highly effective training system that has catapulted thousands of endurance athletes to the next level. Developed by CrossFit Endurance founder Brian MacKenzie and featuring instruction from some of the world's top endurance and CrossFit coaches,

Provides a fundamental and engaging background for students learning to apply and appropriately interpret biostatistics applications in the field of public health.

Introduces the fundamental principles of research methodology and explains how these principles are applied to research in the health sciences while demonstrating how evidence produced through research is applied to solving problems in everday health care.

For thousands of years, Native medicine was the only medicine on the North American continent. It is America's original holistic medicine, a powerful means of healing the body, balancing the emotions, and renewing the spirit. Medicine men and women prescribe prayers, dances, songs, herbal mixtures, counseling, and many other remedies that help not only the individual but the family and the community as well. The goal of healing is both wellness and wisdom.

This reference text discusses basic medical microbiology, including chapters on clinical microbiology, bacteriology, parasitology, mycology, virology, and diagnosis of infectious diseases by organ system.

Offers a thorough review of the core areas of medical laboratory science to effectively prepare for the MLS, MLT, or other certification exams.

This book is designed as a reference text for students in clinical and medical laboratory science programs and presents comprehensive and detailed information on the analysis of urine and body fluids.

Covers current theory, practice, and clinical applications in the fields of immunology and serology. Designed for the student, each chapter has applicable cases with extensively developed presentations, case-related multiple-choice questions, and critical analysis group discussion questions.

Describes an extensive array of tests for diverse populations, providing step-by-step guidance on correct procedure, tips for accurate interpretation, and expert information on patient preparation and aftercare.

Includes positioning photos, radiographs, and anatomical images, along with projection and positioning information, to help medical radiation technologists produce the most accurate images. Over 200 of the most common projections are used to provide essential information for clinical practice.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted ARRT® Radiography Exam resource with 1,400 practice questions and fully updated content.

This book covers key sequences for optimal imaging of common pathologies, presenting typical examples with clinical features to help students better understand common conditions.

Each physics topic is described in user-friendly language and accompanied by high-quality graphics and/or images. The visually rich format provides a readily accessible tool for learning, leveraging, and mastering the powerful diagnostic capabilities of MRI.

A truly comprehensive advanced text for the assessment of women's health, this book encompasses both foundational and cutting-edge physical and psychosocial information in a clear and concise outline format, and is unique in its presentation of more advanced techniques and procedures not addressed in standard assessment texts.

From timely topics such as healthcare reform and global issues, this text helps you continue your education and reach the next level of professional practice. Examines such topics as effective communication, professional ethics, leadership, group theory, teaching/learning, and multicultural issues.

Now in its eighth edition, this highly acclaimed, newly revised and expanded text continues to deliver innovative practice guidelines for evidence-based complementary and alternative therapies that can easily be incorporated into curriculum and applied directly to practice. The book describes holistic treatments that are culturally appropriate for clients across the life span and NCLEX(R)-relevant content appropriate for preparation of advanced practice nurses.

Prepare for the real world of family nursing care! Explore family nursing the way it's practiced today--with a theory-guided, evidence-based approach to care throughout the family life cycle that responds to the needs of families and adapts to the changing dynamics of the health care system.

Provides students with an essential understanding of contemporary professional nursing practice in Canada. The 4th edition takes a broader, less prescriptive approach to nursing diagnoses and encourages students and nurses to use their knowledge, experience, and critical thinking skills to generate diagnoses or analyses.

Emphasizes the importance of baccalaureate-educated nurses being able to read, critically appraise, and synthesize research to make use of evidence in changing practice.

Client-Centered Exercise Prescription, Third Edition With Web Resource, emphasizes a personalized approach to exercise in which unique programs meet the interests and needs of individual clients. This resource will help you to prescribe exercise and guide clients in adopting, enjoying, and maintaining active lifestyles.

The popular book is now available in a completely revised third edition. The author, an occupational therapist and parent of an adult with Down syndrome, describes how the characteristics of Down syndrome can impact the acquisition and progression of fine motor skills. She presents a thorough overview of the building blocks of fine motor development, from infancy through to adulthood:

This book takes an evidence-based look at the reality of the specific problems caused by acquiring a disability, and uses cognitive behavioural therapy and other methods to deal with it.

This book contains clinical scenarios followed by overviews of key topics along with topic-related Q&As. Covers pharmacology, specific traumas, hazardous materials, and many other subjects. Includes exam preparation tips.

Designed for use by the professional paramedic at the roadside, this book covers the immediate management of acute medical emergencies, major trauma, minor injuries and environmental problems as well as covering the interaction with other emergency services and coping with major incidents.

Discusses current ethical dilemmas in emergency medicine, such as end-of-life decisions, pandemics, informed consent, and religious perspectives on do-not-resuscitate orders. Each discussion concludes with a review of relevant literature, followed by expert recommendations.

For courses in Prehospital Emergency Care. The most complete resource for EMT training Comprehensive in scope and student-friendly, Prehospital Emergency Care conveys the "WHY" behind the signs and symptoms students observe and the services they provide.

This textbook covers all aspects of working as a support worker in a client's home from meal preparation to the administration of medications.