Library & Learning Commons: Indigenous Resources Guide: Organizations & Statistics

Organizations & Statistics

Maamwi hub
Inspired by the TRC 94 Calls to Action ensuring that the 24 Colleges of Ontario lead in the education of staff and students on the diverse Indigenous histories, cultures, and current Indigenous worldviews.

Resources

The Canadian Constitution recognizes these three groups as Aboriginal peoples, also known as Indigenous peoples - the First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples.

Although these groups share many similarities, they each have their own distinct heritage, language, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs.

In cooperation with Indigenous organizations, the Government of Canada chose June 21, the summer solstice, for National Aboriginal Day, now known as National Indigenous Peoples Day. For generations, many Indigenous peoples and communities have celebrated their culture and heritage on or near this day due to the significance of the summer solstice as the longest day of the year.

The year 2021 marked a significant milestone, as the 25th anniversary. National Aboriginal Day (now National Indigenous Peoples Day) was announced in 1996 by then Governor General of Canada, Roméo LeBlanc, through the Proclamation Declaring June 21 of Each Year as National Aboriginal Day. This was the result of consultations and statements of support for such a day made by various Indigenous groups:

- in 1982, the National Indian Brotherhood (now the Assembly of First Nations) called for the creation of National Aboriginal Solidarity Day

- in 1995, the Sacred Assembly, a national conference of Indigenous and non-Indigenous people chaired by Elijah Harper, called for a national holiday to celebrate the contributions of Indigenous Peoples

- also in 1995, the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples recommended the designation of a National First Peoples Day

- on June 21, 2017, the Prime Minister issued a statement announcing the intention to rename this day National Indigenous Peoples Day.

National Indigenous Peoples Day: June 21
This day, also the Summer Solstice, is for all Canadians to recognize and celebrate the unique heritage, diverse cultures and outstanding contributions of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples.
National Indigenous History Month - Why It’s Important
June is National Indigenous History Month - a time for all Canadians - Indigenous, non-Indigenous and newcomers - to reflect upon and learn the history, sacrifices, cultures, contributions, and strength of First Nations, Inuit and Métis people. It’s important to keep in mind that First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples each have their own unique histories. And within each group, there are distinct histories.
International Inuit Day: November 7
... is an annual celebration founded in 2006 by the Inuit Circumpolar Council representing Arctic peoples living in Canada, and other Arctic regions
Martha of the North
In the mid-1950s, lured by false promises of a better life, Inuit families were displaced by the Canadian government and left to their own devices in the Far North. In this icy desert realm, Martha Flaherty and her family lived through one of Canadian history’s most sombre and little-known episodes.
Indigenous Veteran's Day: November 8
First Nations, Inuit and Métis of Canada have a long and proud tradition of military service to our country. While exact statistics are difficult to determine, the rate of Indigenous participation in Canada's military efforts over the years has been impressive. These determined volunteers were often forced to overcome many challenges to serve in uniform, from learning a new language and adapting to cultural differences, to having to travel great distances from their remote communities just to enlist. The challenges they faced often extended to their post-service life. Many Indigenous war Veterans would not receive equal treatment compared to other Canadian Veterans.
Remembrance - The Legion: November 11
Learn more about why we celebrate Remembrance Day
Forgotten Warriors
This documentary introduces us to thousands of Indigenous Canadians who enlisted and fought alongside their countrymen and women during World War II, even though they could not be conscripted. Ironically, while they fought for the freedom of others, they were being denied equality in their own country and returned home to find their land seized. Loretta Todd's poignant film offers forth the testimony of those who were there, and how they managed to heal.

Louis Riel Day: November 16
Louis Riel Day is held every year on November 16 across the Métis homeland. November 16 is the anniversary of Riel’s execution in 1885. During that year, Riel led Métis people in the Northwest Resistance, which was a stand against the Government of Canada because it was encroaching on Métis rights and our way-of-life.
Métis Nation of Ontario.
Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO)
In 1993, MNO was established through the will of Métis people and Métis communities coming together throughout Ontario to create a Métis-specific governance structure. The MNO was not created to represent all individuals and communities that claim to be Métis, but those individuals and communities that are a part of the Métis Nation.
Virtual Museum of Métis History and Culture
This website is the most comprehensive attempt to chronicle traditional Métis history and culture on the Internet and contains a wealth of primary documents – oral history interviews, photographs and various archival documents – in visual, audio and video files.

Aboriginal Law
The Faculty of Law, University of Toronto has long been dedicated to enhancing the presence of Indigenous scholars and ideas at the law school. Through recruiting Indigenous students to the Faculty, offering innovative courses in Aboriginal and Indigenous law, or providing students with opportunities to put their legal knowledge to work on behalf of Indigenous communities, the Faculty has worked to enhance the Native voice in our educational community. - UofT, Faculty of Law
Indian Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. I-5)
Government of Canada - Justice Laws website
Indigenous Law Centre
The Native Law Centre at the University of Saskatchewan was founded in 1975 by Dr. Roger C. Carter whose commitment to social justice issues convinced the University of the need for a Centre to facilitate access to legal education for Indigenous peoples. This was to promote the development of the law and the legal system in Canada in ways which better accommodate the advancement of Indigenous peoples and communities, and to disseminate information concerning Indigenous peoples and the law. Structured initially as an independent special project within the University of Saskatchewan, the Centre became a department of the College of Law in 1984. - ILC
IPinCH
The Intellectual Property Issues in Cultural Heritage (IPinCH) project is a seven-year international research initiative based at Simon Fraser University, in British Columbia, Canada. Our work explores the rights, values, and responsibilities of material culture, cultural knowledge and the practice of heritage research. - IPinCH
IPinCH: Intellectual Property Issues in Cultural Heritage
Traditional Knowledge Licensing and Labeling Website 1.0 is developed by IPinCH Associates Kim Christen and Jane Anderson, in collaboration with many others, is a project for the development of an accessible digital platform that will contain a set of standardized licenses and fair-use labels that can be applied to already existing and future generated content that contains community-recognized traditional and Indigenous knowledge. - IPinCH
United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP)
The UNDRIP is the most comprehensive international instrument on the rights of indigenous peoples. It establishes a universal framework of minimum standards for the survival, dignity and well-being of the indigenous peoples of the world and it elaborates on existing human rights standards and fundamental freedoms as they apply to the specific situation of indigenous peoples.

Anishinaabemodaa
Anishinaabemodaa, which means, "Waking up Objiway" is a wonderful multimedia resource for language learning activities. This website offers online language lessons and resources. Offers a breakdown and explanation of how the language is constructed, as well as word lists, numbers, months, word games, vowel sounds, grammar, and an alphabet. This is a partnership between Seven Generations Education Institute, Rainy River District School Board, and SayITFirst
Assembly of First Nation’s Guide to Respecting Indigenous Languages
This PDF is a guide for First Nations Rights holders, language experts and organizations looking to start, or already involved in, Indigenous-led language revitalization activities.
Eloquence Embodied: Nonverbal Communication Among French and Indigenous Peoples in the Americas
Call Number: eBook
This book answers the long-standing question of how and how well Indigenous Americans and the Europeans who arrived on their shores communicated with each other.
Iakwahwatsiratatie Language Nest
A series of fun, educational short video segments geared toward young children and parents. Learn how to say different Kanien’kéha words & phrases, cook healthy recipes, sing songs, engage in stories & play all while having fun in the comfort of your home. Featuring a new segment each week with parents, children, and guests of the Iakwahwatsiratátie Language Nest.
Nishnaabemwin: Odawa & Eastern Ojibwe online dictionary
The goal of the project is to co-create an on-line, multimedia linguistic atlas of Algonquian languages. The creation of this atlas allows us to offer many training opportunities for sound editing and linguistic description training to Indigenous students. One of our goals is also to create contacts between curriculum developers, language specialists and lexicographers of Algonquian languages, with a focus on on-line language resources and dictionaries.
Otter's Journey Through Indigenous Language and Law
Call Number: PM231 .B67 2018
Told in contemporary Anishinaabe storytelling style, Otter's Journey takes us across the globe to explore how the work in Indigenous language revitalization can inform the emerging field of Indigenous legal revitalization.
Sharing stories: The Saskatchewan Aboriginal Storytelling project
This is a month-long event in Saskatchewan which celebrates the lives, histories, practices and cultures of First Nations, Métis, Inuit and non-Status peoples through storytelling. The Library Services for Saskatchewan Aboriginal Peoples committee oversees the project. The Saskatchewan Aboriginal Storytelling project is a dynamic methodological and theoretical model for decolonizing library spaces, programmes and collections through celebrating Aboriginal oral traditions.
Transparent Language
A web-based application that provides an engaging and effective environment for language learning. Over 100 languages are available. Includes 25 Indigenous languages such as Swampy Cree, Gwich’in, Hän, Kwak̓wala, Michef, Naskapi, Ojibwe, Central Ojibwe, Northwestern Ojibwe, and Oji-Cree. Also includes Canadian French.
Visit this Mi'kmaq immersion school in Nova Scotia
Eskasoni, Nova Scotia is taking steps to preserve its Indigenous language among the next generation.
Voice from The Grand: CKRZ’s Language Lessons
This audio/video program featuring speakers of Ojibwe, Mohawk, Cayuga and Onondaga Languages. The course content includes vocabulary units on numbers, conversational phrases, clans, colours and so much more.
Why language is vital for this Inuk residential school survivor
Inuk residential school survivor Jack Anawak once fired back at a fellow MP who criticized his speaking Inuktitut in the House of Commons.

Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association
The mission of the CINA is to improve the health of Indigenous Peoples, by supporting Indigenous Nurses and by promoting the development and practice of Indigenous Health Nursing. - CINA
Climate Atlas of Canada
Shkagamik-Kwe (Mother Earth) Indigenous knowledge carries ancient and intergenerational wisdom that is flexible, fluid, and adaptive as it evolves through relationships with the land and other beings. This knowledge evolves from and is responsive to the natural world, which makes it ideal for developing and advancing meaningful climate solutions.
The Climate Atlas of Canada combines climate science, mapping, and storytelling together with Indigenous Knowledges and community-based research and video to inspire awareness and action.
Indigenous health
Find information about health care services and non-insured health benefits (NIHB), careers, how to fight drug and substance use, environmental health, food safety and how to have a healthy pregnancy. - Government of Canada
Institute of Indigenous Peoples' Health
The IIPH fosters the advancement of a national health research agenda to improve and promote the health of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples in Canada, through research, knowledge translation and capacity building. The Institute's pursuit of research excellence is enhanced by respect for community research priorities and Indigenous knowledge, values and cultures. - IPH
Spirit Guide Teachers
In this series of videos, North American Traditional Indigenous Elder and Knowledge Keeper Wa Wa Tei Ikwe shares some of her teachings. She teaches us that Creator will sometimes send Spirit Guides to bring us teachings and show us a better way when our paths become difficult. These videos are meant to be a resource for anyone looking for guidance on their journey towards a more balanced way of living. They are also intended to be the first steps in a new journey between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples who are working towards reconciliation and building healthier relationships.

Canadian Roots Exchange
CRE builds bridges between Indigenous and non-Indigenous youth in Canada by facilitating dialogue and strengthening relationships through leadership programs.
Congress of Aboriginal Peoples
CAP is one of five National Indigenous Organizations recognized by the Government of Canada. Founded in 1971 as the Native Council of Canada (NCC), the organization was originally established to represent the interests of Métis and non-status Indians. Reorganized and renamed in 1993, CAP has extended its constituency to include all off-reserve status and non-status Indians, Métis and Southern Inuit Aboriginal Peoples, and serves as the national voice for its provincial and territorial affiliate organizations. CAP also holds consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), which facilitates its participation on international issues of importance to Indigenous Peoples. - CAP
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
CIRNAC continues to renew the nation-to-nation, Inuit-Crown, government-to-government relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis; modernize Government of Canada structures to enable Indigenous peoples to build capacity and support their vision of self-determination; and lead the Government of Canada's work in the North - Government of Canada
Empowering the Spirit: Educational Resource to Support Reconciliation
This website provides support for all levels within school jurisdictions to increase awareness, understanding and application of First Nations, Métis and Inuit histories, perspectives and ways of knowing for the purpose of implementing treaty and residential schools education and Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action for education.
Imagine a Canada – Youth Leading Reconciliation
Imagine a Canada (NCTR) is a national art and leadership program for youth across Canada to envision and aspire for reconciliation in our country.
Indigenous heritage
Library and Archives Canada acquires, preserves, and provides access to published and archival heritage material that represents First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation experiences and contributions to Canada. This includes text, photographs, maps, and audio-visual material. Explore the collection through our online databases, digitized documents and thematic guides. - LAC
National Aboriginal History Organization
NAHO is an internationally recognized research, publishing, and collection organization. We aim at promoting understanding of Aboriginal cultures, languages, stories, and traditions. Our website aims to connect with Aboriginal people and raise awareness about them.We have a priceless collection inclusive of audios, videos, films, and photographs of resource materials regarding Aboriginal studies. - NAHO
Native Women’s Association of Canada
NWAC is a National Indigenous Organization representing the political voice of Indigenous women, girls and gender diverse people in Canada, inclusive of First Nations on and off reserve, status and non-status, disenfranchised, Métis and Inuit. An aggregate of Indigenous women’s organizations from across the country, NWAC was founded on the collective goal to enhance, promote and foster the social, economic, cultural and political well-being of Indigenous women within their respective communities and Canada societies. - NWAC
Two-Spirit Archives
The mission of the Two-Spirit Archives is to develop an internationally-renowned centre for research that supports the needs of the Two-Spirit community; makes Two-Spirit people visible in our documentary heritage; and supports the research, teaching, learning, and community mandates of the University of Winnipeg.

Content Warning: Please note that this section covers difficult topics and Survivor stories related to residential schools that some readers may find distressing.
For residential school Survivors and their families, 24-hour support is available through the following:
Cambrian College students may contact Wabnode Centre for Indigenous Services in room 2133 and at wabnode@cambriancollege.ca
Indian Residential Schools Crisis Line at 1-800-721-0066,
National Residential School Crisis Line 1-866 925-4419,
If you're a student from an Ontario college, please consult the student support services available at your college.

National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation, University of Manitoba: Archives
The National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation was created to preserve the memory of Canada’s Residential School system and legacy. Not just for a few years, but forever. Officially opening in the summer of 2015, the NCTR will be the permanent home for all statements, documents, and other materials gathered by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC). - NCTR
Indian Residential School records
The IRSSA ended the largest class action suit in Canadian history. The lawsuit was filed because of the damage inflicted by church-run and federal government-sponsored schools that Indigenous children were forced to attend from the 1880s to 1996.
School Files Series - 1879-1953 (RG10)
The files deal with all aspects of Indian school administration in Canada. Although this sub-series contains only records relating to schools and education, not all departmental headquarters central registry files relating to this topic between 1879 and 1953 are found here. - LAC
Truth and Reconcilliation Commission of Canada
The TRC is a component of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement. Its mandate is to inform all Canadians about what happened in Indian Residential Schools (IRS). The Commission will document the truth of survivors, families, communities and anyone personally affected by the IRS experience. This includes First Nations, Inuit and Métis former Indian Residential School students, their families, communities, the Churches, former school employees, Government and other Canadians. - TRC

Calls to Action (pdf)
To redress the legacy of residential schools and advance reconciliation, in its final report the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada called on governments, educational and religious institutions, civil society groups and all Canadians to take action on the 94 Calls to Action it identified.

Calls to Action Accountability: A 2022 Status Update on Reconciliation by Yellowhead Institute Report
2023 marks eight years since the release of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s 94 Calls to Action. This year also marks the fifth year of authors Eva Jewell and Ian Mosby tracking Canada’s progress on completing the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s 94 Calls to Action. In this edition of their annual Calls to Action Accountability analysis, Jewell and Mosby reflect on the past five years of reconciliatory movements in Canada. What barriers to reconciliation have been witnessed? What has compelled Canada to act? Who has pushed progress on these Calls to Action forward? By framing reconciliation in 2023 against the backdrop of trends seen in the last several years, Jewell and Mosby identify the ongoing issue of inaction on reconciliation and what it means for the future of accountability work.
Healing and Reconciliation Through Education
This open educational resource is focused on teaching the history of the colonial legacy of Residential Schools, with an emphasis on exploring the unique history of the Shingwauk Residential School which operated in Sault Ste. Marie.
Honouring the truth, reconciling for the future
Call Number: E96.5 .T782 2015
This report, the summary volume, includes the history of residential schools, the legacy of that school system, and the full text of the Commission's 94 recommendations for action to address that legacy. This report lays bare a part of Canada's history that until recently was little-known to most non-Aboriginal Canadians. The Commission discusses the logic of the colonization of Canada's territories, and why and how policy and practice developed to end the existence of distinct societies of Aboriginal peoples.
IPCA Knowledge Basket
IPCA is a digital space created to honour, celebrate, and catalyze Indigenous-led conservation pathways in Canada, including Indigenous Protected and Conserved Areas (IPCAs). IPCA holds stories, videos, songs, government reports and policies, academic articles, resources, and artwork available to all who seek to support Indigenous-led conservation.
Status updates to the TRCs Calls to Action
Indigenous Watchdog tracks for each Call to Action who is accountable for what outcome? Are they progressing or not? And if not, why? 260 years of promises made and promises broken to Canada’s First Peoples. What progress has been made since the TRC Calls to Action were released in June 2015?

Indigenous Ally Toolkit
The Toolkit from the Montreal Urban Aboriginal Community Strategy Network aims to educate non-Indigenous individuals and groups on how they can use their privilege to listen, shift power dynamics, and take concrete steps towards (Re)conciliation-Action.

Colonialism and Mental Health on Campus: an anit-oppressive practice toolkit
Understand what anti-oppressive practice is, how it intersects with mental health, and why it is important to embed anti-oppressive practices into our campus.

The simple genius of a good graphic
In a TEDtalk that's part history lesson, part love letter to graphics, information designer Tommy McCall traces the centuries-long evolution of charts and diagrams -- and shows how complex data can be sculpted into beautiful shapes. "Graphics that help us think faster, or see a book's worth of information on a single page, are the key to unlocking new discoveries," McCall says.
Aboriginal languages in Canada
Publication Date: 2016 Census
Aboriginal peoples
Publication Date: 2011 Census
Provides data on the Aboriginal peoples of Canada, including population (First Nations, Métis, and Inuit), languages spoken, and educational attainment.
Aboriginal peoples
Publication Date: 2016 Census
Aboriginal peoples: fact sheet for Ontario
Publication Date: 2016
Presents a summary of characteristics about the Aboriginal population living in Ontario. Demographic data and information on living arrangements of children, education, employment, income, housing, health and language are highlighted. - Statistics Canada
Aboriginal population in Canada
Publication Date: 2016 Census
Aboriginal statistics at a glance
Publication Date: 2015 & 2010
The data provides users with a thematic guide to Aboriginal data at Statistics Canada. It includes data for the First Nations (North American Indian), Métis, and Inuit populations. Each theme is illustrated with a chart presenting key indicators, a plain language definition of the indicator and links to related data tables and published articles to further assist users in meeting their data needs. Data sources include the 1996, 2001 and 2006 censuses of population, the 2006 Aboriginal Peoples Survey, the 2005 Canadian Community Health Survey, and the 2007/2008 Adult Correctional Services Survey. - Statistics Canada
Birth outcomes among First Nations, Inuit and Métis populations
Publication Date: 2017
Data tables - Aboriginal identity
Includes highest certificate, diploma or degree, registered or Treaty Indian status, residence by Aboriginal geography, etc
Education in Canada
Publication Date: 2016 Census
First Nations Information Governance Centre
FNIGC is a First Nations-led organization committed to gathering and disseminating data that reflects the diversity of life in the 634 First Nations reserve and Northern communities across the country.
Housing conditions of Aboriginal people in Canada
Publication Date: 2017
Indigenous health in Canada - statistics & facts - Statista
The indigenous peoples of Canada are sometimes referred to as Native or Aboriginal Canadians, and consist of the First Nations, Inuit, and Métis. These people account for roughly five percent of the population of Canada and the life quality of these indigenous peoples differs in many ways to the non-indigenous population. Indigenous peoples experience lower levels of education and income, higher rates of unemployment and incarnation, and poorer health, among other such disparities.
Statista
An easy-to-search statistics database that includes data from Statistics Canada.
Indigenous Liaison Program
The Indigenous Liaison Program serves as a bridge between Statistics Canada and First Nations, Métis and Inuit communities and Indigenous organizations.
Indigenous Paleolithic Database of the Americas
IPDA is a database of the Pleistocene age archaeology sites in North and South America that date to earlier than 11,000 years before present. All sites listed have been discussed in peer reviewed academic publications. This database and associated evidence reclaim Indigenous peoples’ links to the land, supporting a much earlier (than previously accepted by many American and Canadian archaeologists) initial habitation date for Indigenous people in North and South America. Historically, Western archaeologists have created the Indigenous past of the Americas through a colonized Western view. TIPDBA decolonizes this narrative by reclaiming over one hundred thousand years of history that have previously been denied by these archaeologists.
Indigenous Peoples Survey
Publication Date: 2017
The purpose of the Indigenous Peoples Survey (IPS) is to provide data on the social and economic conditions of First Nations people living off reserve, Métis and Inuit, aged 15 and over, in Canada.
Indigenous population profiles
Presents information from the Census of Population focusing on the Aboriginal identity population of various geographic areas. These geographic areas include: Canada, provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas and census agglomerations, census divisions, census subdivisions, Métis settlements, Inuit regions, Indian band and Tribal Council areas, modern treaty and self-government agreement areas and historic treaty areas. Data are available for the Aboriginal identity population by age groups for selected socio-demographic characteristics. - Statistics Canada
Indigenous statistics portal
Publication Date: 2016 Census
The portal is part of Statistics Canada's Indigenous Statistical Capacity Development Initiative, and provides a central location on the agency's website where users can find links to data products about First Nations people, Métis and Inuit. The Indigenous Statistics Portal provides data on Indigenous communities, children and families, health and well-being, education, work and many other topics, in one convenient location. Users can also quickly find information on recently released products and view data from the 2016 Census. - Statistics Canada
Lifetime suicidal thoughts among First Nations, Inuit and Métis: study
Publication Date: 2016
Population projections by Aboriginal identity in Canada
Publication Date: 2006 to 2031
This release presents new population projections by age, sex and region for Aboriginal identity populations up to 2031. "Aboriginal identity" refers to self-reported Aboriginal groups (First Nations / North American Indians, Métis and Inuit) in Canadian censuses. - Statistics Canada
Research and statistics
Find statistics and research reports about Indigenous and Northern issues conducted or supported by Indigenous Services Canada.

I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal
The I-Portal, University of Saskatchewan, is a tool for access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world.
Outdoor Learning in Canada
Publication Date: 2024 - OER
Includes Accessible, adaptive, and inclusive outdoor recreation; Enhancing support for Indigenous land-based programming in the NWT; Collaborating with community partners to develop specialized programs for underserved populations; Re-connecting children and youth with nature for a healthy planet.
Indigenous Canada
Indigenous Canada is a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the University of Alberta's Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. It is for students from with an interest in acquiring a basic familiarity with Indigenous/non-Indigenous relationships.
Reconciliation Through Indigenous Education
This course offered by the University of British Columbia, will help you envision how Indigenous histories, perspectives, worldviews, and approaches to learning can be made part of the work we do in classrooms, organizations, communities, and our everyday experiences in ways that are thoughtful and respectful. In this course, reconciliation emphasizes changing institutional structures, practices, and policies, as well as personal and professional ideologies to create environments that are committed to strengthening our relationships with Indigenous peoples.
Knots in a string : an introduction to Native Studies in Canada by Peggy Brizinski
Publication Date: 1989
This concise history of Indian, Metis and Inuit groups in Canada includes the origins of cultural diversity, the fur trade, relations with the state, aboriginal rights, native people and society, the north, a glossary of terms and references.