Indigenous Studies Resources Guide

Tells the story of physical activity, exercise, and health in Indigenous communities within history and the present time. Features include: wholistic learning objectives, informational text, suggested readings and videos, interactive activities, and opportunities to reflect on learning.

This collection features Indigenous voices, stories, and perspectives; examinations of historical and contemporary issues, reading guides for celebrated novels, a series about Indigenizing post-secondary institutions and professional practice, and more.

The fur trade was the heart of the French empire in early North America. The French-Canadian (Canadien) men traversed the vast hinterlands of the Hudson Bay watershed from the early 1660s to the 1780s, trading furs from Indigenous trappers and hunters, were its cornerstone. Increasingly they found themselves between two worlds as they built relationships with Indigenous communities, sometimes joining them through adoption or marriage, raising families of their own. It was guided by imperfect information, built upon a contested Indigenous borderland, fragmented by local interests, and periodically neglected by government administrators. Uncertain relationships with the French colonial state splintered imperial authority, leading to an outcome that few could have foreseen – the emergence of a new Indigenous culture, language, people, and nation: the Métis.

For centuries, women artists of the Wendat First Nation of Wendake in Quebec have created artworks of intricate design and complex meaning in moosehair and quill embroidery. Their work records and transmits ancestral knowledge across generations of artists and remains a vibrant and important practice today. Through their art, these women played an important part in the diplomatic strategies that advanced the sovereignty of their nation, work that was an extension of their position of authority in their families and clans. Chiefs and community members wore finely embroidered attire as a brilliant focus of ceremonial events, a tradition that continues today.

Living on the Land examines how patriarchy, gender, and colonialism have shaped the experiences of Indigenous women as both knowers and producers of knowledge. From a variety of methodological perspectives, contributors to Living on the Land explore the nature and scope of Indigenous women's knowledge, its rootedness in relationships, both human and spiritual, and its inseparability from land and landscape.

The Anishinaabeg resisted removal, retaining thousands of acres of their homeland in what is now Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota. Their success rested partly on their roles as sellers of natural resources and buyers of trade goods, which made them key players in the political economy of plunder that drove white settlement and U.S. development in the Old Northwest. Outnumbering white settlers well into the nineteenth century, they leveraged their political savvy to advance a dual citizenship that enabled mixed-race tribal members to lay claim to a place in U.S. civil society.

Addresses the visual and material culture of settler colonialism, enslavement, and racialized diasporas in the contested white settler state of Canada. This collection offers new avenues for scholarship on art, archives, and creative practice by rethinking histories of Canadian colonialisms from Black, Indigenous, racialized, feminist, queer, trans, and Two-Spirit perspectives.

Reassessing the archive of the Black Hawk War this explores relationships between the enclosure of Indigenous land, histories of resource extraction, and the literary culture of settler colonialism. While conventional histories of the War have long treated the conflict as gratuitous, this argues that the war was over the dispensation mineral lead for the fabrication of bullets, and the emergence of new cultures of killing and composition. Explores ecologies of racial capitalism as forms of inscription.

Confronts the chronic displacement of Indigeneity in the politics and discourse around race in American political theory and culture, arguing that the ongoing influence of settler-colonialism has undermined efforts to understand Indigenous politics while also hindering conversation around race itself. By reexamining major episodes, texts, writers, and memories of the political past from the seventeenth century to the present the power of settler memory at work in the persistent disavowal of Indigeneity is revealed.

As tourists increasingly moved across the United States in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, a surprising number of communities looked to capitalize on the histories of Native American people to create tourist attractions. Locals staged performances that claimed to honor an Indigenous past while depicting that past on white settlers' terms. Linking the origins of these performances to their present-day incarnations shows "salvage tourism"--a set of practices paralleling so-called salvage ethnography

This text exposes the medical establishment's role in the displacement, colonization, and genocide of Indigenous peoples in Canada. Includes government documentation, historical scholarship, media reports, public inquiries, and personal testimonies, to connect the draconian medevac practice with often-disregarded crimes and medical violence inflicted specifically on Indigenous children.

Thisl is a collection of elegant, thoughtful, and powerful reflections about Indigenous Peoples' complicated, and often frustrating, relationship with Canada, and how--even 150 years after Confederation--the fight for recognition of their treaty and Aboriginal rights continues.

At Cambrian, we are known for being a safe, caring, and respectful community for
Indigenous students – and a place where students can reach their full potential. We: Respect Indigenous Culture as a strategic priority, Nurture Indigenous student leadership, Embed an Indigenous focus within our governance model, Provide Elder Support on campus

Includes an introduction to sovereignty and survival with an oral history of the Warrior Society – interviews with Tekarontakeh, Kakwirakeron, Kanasaraken, and Ateronhiatakon; basic principles of the Kaianerehkó:wa (1997), the Iroquoian use of wampum (1988), Ganienkeh Manifesto (1974), Warrior's Handbook (1979), and rebuilding the Iroquois Confederacy (1985)

The history of Indigenous economies in the Americas presents a puzzle: When Europeans first encountered Indigenous peoples, they discovered societies with high standards of living, vast trading networks, and flourishing markets. But colonizers changed the rules of the game, and by the twentieth century, most Indians had been forced onto reservations and saddled with institutions inimical to their customs and cultures, and incompatible with wealth creation. This "white tape," made these once thriving societies impoverished and dependent. Includes a course for reversing the decline in Indigenous economies and establishing a path to prosperity based on secure tribal property rights, clear jurisdiction and governance, and fiscal and financial power.

The word Skoden originates from the expression, “let’s go then,” and this resource is designed for use by faculty, staff, and administrators working in post-secondary settings in Canada. The purpose of this text is to offer support to individuals and institutions working towards understanding the colonial history of Canada and its ongoing impact on people who are First Nations, Métis, and Inuit. Skoden is designed to offer opportunities for reflection on what this truth means for each of us personally and professionally.

It is time to increase the visibility, role, and responsibility of the emerging modern $100 billion Indigenous economy and the people involved as well as well as being a foundation for economic reconciliation. It is built around relationships, multigenerational stewardship of resources, and care for all. Highlights include: the ongoing power shift and rise of the modern Indigenous economy, voices of leading Indigenous business leaders, the unfolding story in the law courts that is testing Canada's relationship with Indigenous peoples, exposure of the false media narrative of Indigenous dependency. Calls for a new model of development, one that advances Indigenous self-determination, collective well-being, and reconciliation.

Highlights and connects the unique lives of seven Weⁿdat/Waⁿdat women whose legacies are still felt today. Spanning the continent and the colonial borders of New France, British North America, Canada, and the United States, this book shows how Wendat people and place came together in Ontario, Quebec, Michigan, Ohio, Kansas, and Oklahoma, and how generations of activism became intimately tied with notions of family, community, motherwork, and legacy from the 17th to the 21st century. Aims to decolonize the historical discipline by researching with Indigenous people rather than researching on them and is collaborative effort, guided by an advisory council of eight Weⁿdat/Waⁿdat women which considers the ways in which individual Weⁿdat/Waⁿdat women resisted colonialism, preserved their culture, and acted as matriarchs.

An Indigenous leader who has dedicated her life to Indigenous Rights, Jody Wilson-Raybould has represented both First Nations and the Crown at the highest levels with straight talk on what has to be done to collectively move beyond our colonial legacy and achieve true reconciliation in Canada.

Overview of Indigenous-settler relations, including how land is central to Indigenous identity and how the Canadian state systematically marginalizes Indigenous people. Illustrates the various "arrows in a quiver" that Indigenous people use to fight back, such as grassroots organizing, political engagement, and the courts. A comprehensive political and legal overview of Indigenous-settler relations in Canada with insights for possible ways forward

The Final Report is comprised of the truths of more than 2,380 family members, survivors of violence, experts and Knowledge Keepers shared over two years of cross-country public hearings and evidence gathering. It delivers 231 individual Calls for Justice directed at governments, institutions, social service providers, industries and all Canadians.

The idea behind the creation of this open textbook is twofold. First, it is written as a resource for educators to teach students about the Indigenous historical significance of the lands encompassing the Robinson-Huron Treaty area and more specifically the Greater Sudbury and Manitoulin area. Secondly, through the use of interactive mapping strategies, the textbook will serve as a guide for educators to develop a similar resource to document Indigenous stories from their own areas. Chapters include: Indigenous Stories and Their Historical Significance, The Impact of Colonial History on Indigenous Peoples, Resistance to Colonization, Re-emergence of Indigenous Knowledge and Culture, Reconciliation, Conclusion - Braiding

Description from Website: The following document offers the Canadian Association of University Teachers recommended territorial acknowledgement for institutions where our members work, organized by province. While most of these campuses are included, the list will gradually become more complete as we learn more about specific traditional territories. When requested, we have also included acknowledgements for other post-secondary institutions as well.

The Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) concerns government policy with respect to the original historical nations of this country. Those nations are important to Canada, and how Canada relates to them defines in large measure its sense of justice and its image in its own eyes and before the world. The RCAP was established by Order in Council on August 26, 1991, and it submitted its report in October 1996.

Includes modern NCTR reports as well as historical reports such as the 1857 Gradual Civilization Act which as an Act of Parliament that sought to assimilate Indigenous people through enfranchisment.

Includes reclaiming Indigenous languages: Mohawk, Michif, Hul'q'umi'num', Nishnaabemin,

Captures the energy and optimism that many feel about the future of community-based scholarship, which involves the collaboration of archives, scholars, and Native American communities. Explores new applications of materials to partner on collaborative projects that assist the cultural and linguistic revitalization movements within Native communities. A paradigm shift is driving researchers to reckon with questionable practices used by scholars and libraries in the past to pursue documents relating to Native Americans, practices that are often embedded in the content of the collections themselves. Historical and contemporary case studies highlight the importance of archival materials for the revitalization of Indigenous languages.

Members of Eli Baxter's generation are the last of the hunting and gathering societies living on Miss-koh-tay-sih Minis (Turtle Island). They are also among the last fluent speakers of the Anishinaabay language known as Anishinaabaymowin. Examines how Anishinaabay Kih-kayn-daa-soh-win (knowledge) is an elemental concept embedded in the Anishinaabay language through history, science, math, education, philosophy, law, and spiritual teachings, outlining the cultural significance of language to Anishinaabay identity. Governor General's Literary Award for English-Language Nonfiction 2022 winner.

This is an introductory look at one of the most widely spoken of all North American Indigenous languages, regionally known as Saulteaux, Ojibway, Ottawa (Odawa), Chippewa, and Algonquian. Designed for self-study or the classroom this will guide beginners through the language's grammatical structures and spelling systems, as well as everyday terms and phrases, and also sheds light on the Saulteaux world view. For example, there is no word for good-bye in the language, so upon parting people will usually say Kika-wāpamin mīnawā, meaning “I'll see you again”.

Exploration of storytelling as a tool for knowledge production and sharing to build new connections between people and their histories, environments, and cultural geographies; the significance of storytelling in Indigenous knowledge frameworks; as a way of knowing; share knowledge and convey significant lessons, as well as to engage different audiences in knowledge exchange. An interdisciplinary and cross-cultural dialogue that yields important insights in terms of qualitative research methods, language and literacy, policy-making, human-environment relationships, and healing.

'Our names – Atiqput – are very meaningful. They are our identification. They are our Spirits. We are named after what's in the sky for strength, what's in the water... the land, body parts. Every name is attached to every part of our body and mind. Yes, every name is alive. Every name has a meaning. Much of our names have been misspelled and many of them have lost their meanings forever. Our Project Naming has been about identifying Inuit, who became nameless over the years, just 'unidentified eskimos...' With Project Naming, we have put Inuit meanings back in the pictures, back to life.

This is an online game environment based on the “choose your own adventure” storybook format. The game supports the education of allies about Indigenous ways of knowing, learning, and being. It fosters empathy toward the experiences of Indigenous peoples with the goal of building solidarity with an Indigenous resurgence in higher education and beyond. This project has generated a learning resource that is informed by and rooted in the reality of the lived experiences of Indigenous students navigating postsecondary education. Indigenous students report feeling isolated, misunderstood and marginalized in postsecondary education, in part due to the systemic underrepresentation of Indigenous staff and instructors. This work aims to help improve the postsecondary learning and training experiences of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples.

Twelve years after the lights go out . . . sequel to Moon of the Crusted Snow. In the years since a mysterious cataclysm caused a permanent blackout that toppled infrastructure and thrust the world into anarchy, Evan Whitesky has led his community in remote northern Canada off the rez and into the bush, where they've been rekindling their Anishinaabe traditions, isolated from the outside world. As new generations are born, and others come of age in a world after everything, Evan's people are stronger than ever. But resources around their new settlement are drying up, and elders warn that they cannot stay indefinitely. Evan and his teenaged daughter, Nangohns, are chosen to lead a scouting party on a months-long trip down to their traditional home on the shores of Lake Huron--to seek new beginnings, and discover what kind of life--and what danger--still exists in the lands to the south.

A daring post-apocalyptic novel from a powerful rising literary voice. With winter looming, a small northern Anishinaabe community goes dark. Panic builds as the food supply dwindles. While the band council and a pocket of community members struggle to maintain order, an unexpected visitor arrives, escaping the crumbling society to the south. Frustrated by the building chaos, a group of young friends and their families turn to the land and Anishinaabe tradition in hopes of helping their community thrive again. Out of catastrophe comes resilience. And as one society collapses, another is reborn.

This is a fictional look at how an Anishinaabe First Nation, in northern Ontario, deals with an unknown event that leaves the community isolated, without power or phone service, and limited food sources as winter sets in. This reading guide has been updated from the original resource to explore connections between the novel and the global COVID-19 pandemic. Also discusses colonialism, community, gender, language, traditions and culture. The novel is available in the library at PS8635.I246 M66 2018

An anthology from the territory now known as Saskatchewan - kisiskâciwan. Includes voices from Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota, Nakota, Dene, and Métis nations. Includes speeches and letters by Treaty Chiefs, early writings from spiritual leaders, traditional stories from Elders, archival discoveries, and contemporary literary works in all genres. Authors include Starblanket, Big Bear, Sitting Bull, Gabriel Dumont, Louis Riel, Thunderchild, Edward Ahenakew, Eleanor Brass, Alice Ahenakew, Howard Adams, Maria Campbell, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Beth Cuthand, Rita Bouvier, Sky Dancer Louise Bernice Halfe, Harold Johnson, Gregory Scofield, Warren Cariou, Randy Lundy, Andrea Menard, Lisa Bird-Wilson, Mika Lafond, Tenille Campbell, and many more.

This is the story of a child who faced the dark heart of humanity, let loose by the cruel policies of a bigoted nation. Merasty was one of an estimated 150,000 First Nations, Inuit, and Metis children who were taken from their families and sent to government-funded, church-run schools, where they were subjected to a policy of aggressive assimilation, taught to be ashamed of their heritage and, often suffered physical and sexual abuse.

Considers the ways that food and research intersect for both researchers, participants, and communities demonstrating how everyday acts around food preparation, consumption, and sharing can enable unexpected approaches to reciprocal research and fuel relationships across cultures, generations, spaces, and places. Includes bannock: using a contested bread to understand Indigenous and settler relations and ways forward within Canada; evolution and revolution: Haudenosaunee histories and stories of sustenance and survival; I serve you and we serve each other: honouring the Métis relationships in research

This book outlines best principles for working with Indigenous print and oral sources in academic research. Topics include evaluating Indigenous print sources for credibility and authenticity, finding Indigenous authors, and respectfully working with Elders.

Brings various scholars, educators, and community voices together in ways that reimagines and recenters learning processes that embody Indigenous education rooted in critical Indigenous theories and pedagogies. That speak to the resilience and strength embedded in Indigenous knowledges and highlights the intersection between research, theories, and praxis in Indigenous education. Provides pathways to reconceptualize and sustain goals to activate agency, social change, and advocacy with and for Indigenous peoples as they enact sovereignty, self education, and Native nation-building. Includes Indigenizing curriculum and pedagogy, revitalizing and sustaining Indigenous languages, engaging families and communities in Indigenous education, and Indigenizing teaching and teacher education.

This book examines how Indigenous Peoples around the world are demanding greater data sovereignty, and challenging the ways in which governments have historically used Indigenous data to develop policies and programs. In the digital age, governments are increasingly dependent on data and data analytics to inform their policies and decision-making. However, Indigenous Peoples have often been the unwilling targets of policy interventions and have had little say over the collection, use and application of data about them, their lands and cultures. At the heart of Indigenous Peoples' demands for change are the enduring aspirations of self-determination over their institutions, resources, knowledge and information systems.

Features research, theory, and dynamic foundational readings for educators and educational researchers who are looking for possibilities beyond the limits of liberal democratic schooling. Each chapter forwards Indigenous principles - such as Land as literacy and water as life - that are grounded in place-specific efforts of creating Indigenous universities and schools, community organizing and social movements, trans and Two Spirit practices, refusals of state policies, and land-based and water-based pedagogies.

How can scholars best give back to the communities in which they conduct their research? This critical question arises from a long history of colonial scholarship that exploited study subjects by taking knowledge without giving anything in return. It is a problem faced by all field researchers, even those working in their own communities. Over the past several decades there have been calls for research to be less exploitative, but also for researchers and for the research itself to give something back. The twelve case studies in this volume demonstrate that giving back can happen through the research itself--through the careful framing of questions, co-production of knowledge, and dissemination of results--but also through the day-to-day actions and attitudes of researchers that inevitably occur in the field.

These guides are intended to support the systemic change occurring across post-secondary institutions through Indigenization, decolonization, and reconciliation. A guiding principle from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada process states why this change is happening. These guides are the result of a collaboration between BCcampus and the Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills and Training.

Indigenous students remain one of the least represented populations in higher education. They continue to account for only one percent of the total post-secondary student population, and this lack of representation is felt in multiple ways beyond enrollment. Less research money is spent studying Indigenous students, and their interests are often left out of projects that otherwise purport to address diversity in higher education.  Recently, Native scholars have started to reclaim research through the development of their own research methodologies and paradigms that are based in tribal knowledge systems and values, and that allow inherent Indigenous knowledge and lived experiences to strengthen the research. Reclaiming Indigenous Research in Higher Education highlights the current scholarship emerging from these scholars of higher education. From understanding how Native American students make their way through school, to tracking tribal college and university transfer students, this book allows Native scholars to take center stage, and shines the light squarely on those least represented among us.

Part survey of the field of Indigenous literary studies, part cultural history, and part literary polemic, four key questions at the heart of Indigenous kinship traditions are discussed: How do we learn to be human? How do we become good relatives? How do we become good ancestors? How do we learn to live together? Blending personal narrative and broader historical and cultural analysis with close readings of key creative and critical texts, Indigenous writers engage with these questions to challenge settler-colonial policies and practices that have targeted Indigenous connections to land, history, family, and self.

Discusses the relationship between Indigenous peoples and Canada: the fundamental issues from the time of contact -- the terminology of relationships; culture and identity; myth-busting; state violence; and land, learning, law and treaties--along with wider social beliefs about these issues.