Library & Learning Commons: Business: Find articles

Where to find articles

Search all of the library databases through Search ALL.
Or search the individual databases listed below.

Recommended databases

Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full-text content of business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
Economics & Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text content and bibliographic content from leading academic journals. This database also contains country reports, case studies, industry reports, financial data, and market research reports.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text content for regional business publications, including business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas of the United States.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full-text periodicals on small business strategies, procedures, trends, and success stories.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Canadian and Ontario industry market research and industry risk ratings. Searchable by keyword, company name, or NAICS code.
It is normally acceptable to:
- search, view, retrieve, and display content for non-commercial personal, instructional, or academic research needs
- save, print, or make copies of reasonable amounts or parts of the resources (such as individual journal articles) for non-commercial personal use
- share content with other current Cambrian students, faculty, and staff
post links to specific content in such a way that it is available only to other authorized users

It is normally NOT acceptable to:
- sell or re-distribute content, or provide access to someone outside of the college community, such as an employer
- share content with people other than current Seneca students, faculty, and staff
post actual content or articles to Web sites or listservs, private (e.g., a corporate Intranet) or public
- modify or alter the content of licensed resources in any way
- engage in systematic or substantial printing, copying, or downloading of content (entire journal issues, books, etc.)
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics and industry information. A great place to find market and consumer data.

Finding Business Information & Statistics

Library Databases:

Business Source Premier
Under Search Options -> Publication Type, select “Case Study”.
Gale OneFile Business
Head to Advance Search -> by document type -> case study

Library Electronic Journals:

Free & Open Access Sites:

Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS)
Workplace health case studies from the Canadian Government.
MaRS Case Studies
Business cases focused on social innovation.
MIT - Sloan. Learning Edge
This resource for management educators and students includes cases on topics such as entrepreneurship, leadership and ethics, operations management, strategy and sustainability.
Open Case Studies - University of British Columbia
This UBC project is an interdisciplinary, open educational resource with case studies. Many of these case studies focus on topics in sustainability, but we also include cases on other topics that benefit from an interdisciplinary approach.
Ted Rogers Leadership Centre
Cases developed by Ted Rogers Leadership Centre for classroom use.
WBCSD: World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Cases are focused on the topic of sustainability. Make sure to use the left-menu to refine your results to 'Case study' under 'Content Type'.

Open Access Journals

Journal of Business Case Studies

The Journal of Business Case Studies (JBCS) includes case studies designed for use in business and economics courses and articles related to the use of case studies in the classroom. Content can be handed out, posted to Moodle, linked to or course packed without copyright fees. Teaching Notes are available for only a few cases, and are not password protected.

Journal of Business Cases and Applications

The Journal of Business Cases and Applications is dedicated to publishing quality applied business cases and classroom applications/exercises designed to assist business academics in the classroom. Teaching notes, if included, are published with the case manuscript.

Journal of Information Systems Education

The Journal of Information Systems Education (JISE) is a peer reviewed journal published quarterly that focuses on IS education, pedagogy, and curriculum. Coverage is available from 1989-present with a few missing issues. Content can be handed out, posted to a course management system, linked to or course-packed without copyright fees. Teaching Notes are also available. Please see the right-column of the page for the Teaching Note policy and procedure.

Company specific open case studies

Library Sources

Business Source Complete
Click on Company Information at the top of the page, then search for and select the company. You can also select "More" from the top navigation bar and choose "Company Profiles" from the drop-down menu.
News (Gale OneFile)
Database containing thousands of national, international, and local newspapers, including Canadian titles such as the Globe and Mail and the Toronto Star.
Statista
Enter a company name into the main search bar to retrieve company statistics, dossiers, and more.
IBISWorld
Search company name.

Internet Sources

Directories of Canadian Companies
Find suppliers, research competitors, check a company's federal corporation status and more.
EDGAR
The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval, system performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.
Indigenous Business Directory
This directory is a cooperative effort between Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and the Ontario Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation.
SEDAR
The System for Electronic Document Analysis Retrieval is the official site that provides access that provides access to the most public securities documents filed by issuers with the 13 provincial and territorial securities regulatory authorities.

Library Sources

Business Source Complete
In the Advanced Search, and find the Search Options section under the search boxes. You can select "Industry Profile" from the Publication Type options. You can also choose "Industry Overview" under the Document Type options.
Statista
Use the menu at the top of the page to select sources including industry reports, industry dossiers, market outlook and statistics. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more.
IBISWorld
From the menu, search Canada Industry Reports (NAICS), Provincial Reports, and iExpert Summaries.

Internet Sources

Canadian Industry Statistics
Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS) analyses industry data on many economic indicators using the most recent data from Statistics Canada. CIS looks at industry trends and financial information, such as GDP, Labour Productivity, Manufacturing and Trade data.
NAICS Canada 2017
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is an industry classification system developed by the statistical agencies of Canada, Mexico and the United States. NAICS is designed to provide common definitions of the industrial structure of the three countries and a common statistical framework to facilitate the analysis of the three economies (Statistics Canada, n.d., para 1).
Research and Business Intelligence
Industry sector data, financial benchmarks, labour trends and business statistics.

Library Sources

Business Source Complete
Type the country name in the search box, then scroll down and select "Country Report" from the Publication Type list on the right side of the page. Click on search.
Statista
Click on Reports > Country Reports.
IBISWorld
From the menu, select Canada Business Environment Profiles or Provincial Profiles.

Internet Sources

Coface Economic Studies
Country Risk Analysis: Select a country from the drop down list on the right side, under Economic Studies.
Country Commercial Guides
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.
Country Indicators for Foreign Policy (CIFP)
Compiled by Carleton University.
Country Reports
Country Reports from The Economist Intelligence Unit.
CIA World Factbook
General geographic and economic data.
globalEDGE
Over 5000 resources, & tools & resources to research international business questions. Select "globalEDGE Insights > By Country" dropdown list from top menu. Select a country from the map, or from the countries listed under the map.
International Trade Centre - Market Info & Tools
A suite of market analysis tools and related market data and information sources.
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
Country Risk Classification
Transparency International
Transparency International publishes a yearly, perceived corruption ranking (CPI) of countries. Find the Corruption Perceptions Index link on the bottom of the page under the Research title.
World Bank Countries and Regions
Choose a country from the alphabetical list to get more information.

Maps

Library Sources

Statista
Use the Surveys and Consumer Market Outlook sections.
Diversity Studies (Gale)
A database containing 150 journals on cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.

Internet Sources

BBC: Master the Art of Global eMail Etiquette
CIA World Factbook
An excellent source for quick, basic statistical information about every country. There is also a useful country comparison tool.
globalEDGE: Culture
International Statistical Agencies
This is a list of links to statistical agencies (like Statistics Canada) from countries all over the world. Brought to you by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Kwintessential: Global Guide to Culture, Customs, and Etiquette
United Nations - Population Division
United Nations - Statistics Division
Demographic and social statistics for countries all over the world.
World Bank Open Data
Good source for economic and demographic data for each country.

Library Resources

Internet Resources

Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA)
Steps, forms, and handbook on importing and exporting goods in Canada.
Canadian Importers Database
Search for your company's product(s) to get a picture of how it might be imported into Canada.
Canadian Trade Commission - Export Guide
Under the drop down tab for Export, you will find information on all the countries that export Canada exports to.
Canadian Trade Index
International Trade of Agri-Food Products
Information on exporting agricultural goods and food products from Canada.
Global Affairs Canada - Export and Import Controls
Find information about exports and imports of controlled products. Get notices to importers and exporters, access export and import control systems, and consult key resources such as printable forms, guides and handbooks.
Trade Data Online
Trade Data Online provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.

Library Resources

Internet Resources

How to write a business plan
Government of Canada guide to writing business plans.
Sample business plans and templates
Government of Canada guide containing business plan writing tools.

Library Resources

Internet Resources

Intellectual property and copyright
Government of Canada guide to intellectual property, trademarks, copyright and using IP as a business tool.