The list of works cited appears at the end of the essay. Centre the heading "Works Cited" 1/2 inch below the page number. All of the entries are double-spaced and formatted with a hanging indent, i.e. the first line is flush with the left margin and subsequent lines are indented 1/2 inch.
In general, works cited are arranged alphabetically by the authors' last names. If no individual author is listed, and a corporate author or title is used as the first element in a reference, it is arranged alphabetically with all other references by the first significant word (exclude A, An or The). If titles begin with a number (e.g. 2010), alphabetize the title as if it were spelled out (e.g. Two Thousand and Ten).
If there are two or more works by the same author, they are arranged alphabetically by title after the author's name. It is not necessary to repeat the author's name when listing the second and subsequent works by the same person. Replace the author's name with three hyphens, e.g. --- (see Association of Registered Graphic Designers of Ontario).
If your are citing a work by an author who is also the first-named author of another work you are citing that was written in collaboration with others, spell out the name in full for the second reference (see Heller, Steven).
| Smith 10 |
Works Cited
Adams, Nicholas. "Gropius, Walter." World Book Encyclopedia. Millennium ed., 2000.
Apple, Inc. Core Animation Programming Guide. Apple, 2010.
Association of Registered Graphic Designers of Ontario. AccessAbility: A Practical Handbook on Accessible Graphic Design. RGD Ontario, 2010, www.rgd.ca/database/files/library/RGD_AccessAbility_Handbook.pdf.
---. A Graphic Designer's Guide to Pro Bono Work. RGD Ontario, 2007.
Avatar. Directed and produced by James Cameron. Twentieth Century Fox, 2010.
"Bauhaus." Dictionary.com, www.dictionary.com/browse/bauhaus#. Accessed 22 Oct. 2019.
"Bauhaus." Encyclopedia of Artists, edited by William Vaughan. Vol. 6, Oxford UP, 2000.
Bos, Ben, and Elly Bos, editors. AGI: Graphic Design since 1950. Thames & Hudson, 2007.
Bruns, George, composer. Walt Disney's The Jungle Book. Walt Disney Records, 2001.
Canada. Industry Canada. Improving Canada's Digital Advantage: Strategies for Sustainable Prosperity: Consultation Paper on a Digital Economy Strategy for Canada. Cat. No. Iu4-144/2010E.Govt . of Canada, 2010.
Cullen, Cheryl Dangel, et al. Graphic Design that Works: Secrets for Successful Logo, Magazine, Brochure, Promotion, and Identity Design. Gloucester, MA: Rockport, 2006.
Daichendt, G. Thomas. "The Bauhaus Artist-Teacher: Walter Gropius's Philosophy of Art Education." Teaching Artist Journal, vol. 8, no. 3, July-Sept. 2010, pp. 157-64.
Devalle, Veronica. "Graphic Design as a University Discipline in Argentina, 1958-1985." Design Issues, vol. 32, no. 3, Summer 2016, pp. 67-77, doi:10.1162/DESI_a_00400.
Gilkyrson, Terry. "The Bare Necessities," performed by Phil Harris. Walt Disney's The Jungle Book. Walt Disney Records, 2001.
Heller, Steven. Design Humor: The Art of Graphic Wit. Allworth, 2002.
Heller, Steven, and Veronique Vienne. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer: A Guide for Careers in Design. Wiley, 2005.
I Know an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly. Directed by Derek Lamb, produced by Colin Low. National Film Board of Canada, 2006.
Janoff, Rob. Personal interview. 28 May 2012.
"A Letter Home? Designer's Font of Knowledge Is a Break from Type Casting." Hamilton Spectator, 10 Sep. 2010, p. G09.
Litfin, Kathy. "Sustainable Graphic Design." Environemntal Sustainability GEN 2415. Class lecture, Cambrian College, Sudbury, Ontario. 16 Oct. 2011.
Loxley, Simon. Type: The Secret History of Letters. I. B. Tauris, 2004. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=cambrian&url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=120817&site=eds-live.
Lucie-Smith, Edward. "Jugendstil." The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms. 2nd ed., Thames & Hudson, 2004.
Macdonald, Colin S., compiler. A Dictionary of Canadian Artists. Canadian Paperbacks, 1967. 5 vols.
"The Mouse Is Mightier than the Pencil: The Rise of CGI Animation." Globe and Mail 18 May 2007, p. R6. Gale OneFile News.
National Film Board of Canada. Stop-Motion Animation Workshop. Animation Resources. NFB, [2017]..
"Nestle-logo." JPG Image. More about Advertising: The Alternative Voice of Advertising, Marketing and Media, posted by Stephen Foster, 10 Aug. 2010, www.moreaboutadvertising.com/2010/08/food-companies-nestle-28bn-spend-alcon-eyecare-novartis-loreal-kraft/nestle-logo/.
Nishimura, Mariko. "What Is Graphic Design?" YouTube, uploaded by Kinetic Typography 101, 11 Aug. 2011, www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUeiZ6c6EBw.
Osterer, Irv. "Expressive TyPOgraPHy." Arts & Artivities, vol. 151, no. 2, Mar. 2012, p. 39.
Smith, John. "Re: Bauhaus." Received by Betty Jones. 30 June 2017.
Society of Graphic Designers of Canada. Vancouver Island Chapter. Design Cares Travelling Exhibit: A Celebration of the Role Designers Are Taking to Make a Positive Impact on the World. GDC, [2016?].
Stanchfield, Walt. "28 Principles of Animation." Animation Arena, 2019, www.animationarena.com/principles-of-animation.html. Accessed 23 Oct. 2019.
Swanson, Fritz. "Ink on Plastic." Printmag.com. Print Magazine, Feb. 2012.
Thevarasa, Kanish A. "Administering a Design Consultancy." The Business of Graphic Design: A Professional's Handbook, edited by Hilary Ashworth. Assoc. of Registered Graphic Designers of Canada, 2001, pp.75-96.
Warburton, Matthew. "Where Would We Be Today Without the Vision of Steve Jobs?" gdc blog, Society of Graphic Designers of Canada, 6 Oct. 2011.
White, Alex W. The Elements of Graphic Design: Space, Unity, Page Architecture, and Type. 2nd ed., Allworth, 2011.
Wilkins, Arnold, et al. "Typography for Children May Be Inappropriately Designed." Journal of Research in Reading, vol. 32, no. 4, Nov. 2009, pp. 402-12.
Zeman, Klarka. An Overivew of the Specialized Design Services Industry. Cat. No. 63F0002XIB, No. 37. Statistics Canada, Services Industries Division, 2001, publications.gc.ca/collections/Collection/Statcan/63F0002XIE
/63F0002XIB2001037.pdf. Accessed 23 Oct. 2019.
